flor de cana
flor de cana

SURFER Announces 2011 SURFER Poll Video Nominees

With just a few weeks to go before the 41st annual SURFER Poll awards, SURFER Magazine is pleased to announce the video award nominees for the 2011 competition. A judging panel comprised of SURFER staff and experts in the realm of surf filmmaking will watch the nominees and vote on the winners.

“This year we were blown away by the quality and quantity of film submissions to SURFER Poll,” says SURFER Magazine Publisher Tony Perez. “Determining winners in each category will be no easy task, and earning a nomination is huge recognition in and of itself. We’re just really excited to celebrate all of these great contributions to our culture on December 6th.”

This year brought in a slew of excellent documentaries, in particular, including: Lost and Found, White Wash, Splinters, Minds in the Water, and several others. The Movie of the Year is always a coveted award each year and this year’s five nominees are: Lost Atlas, Year Zero, Kerrazy Kronicles, Get-N-Classic, and Come Hell or High Water.

The complete list of nominees include:

Best Barrel
John John Florence (Get-N-Classic)
Alex Gray (Teahupoo Uncut)
Josh Kerr (Kerrazy Kronicles)
Cory Lopez (Teahupoo Uncut)
Dean Morrison (A Dingo’s Tale)

Worst Wipeout
Kohl Christensen (Surprise Excitement Party)
Evan Faulks (Surprise Excitement Party)
Nathan Fletcher (Teahupoo Uncut)
Mark Healey (Surprise Excitement Party)
Rodrigo Koxa (Teahupoo Uncut)

Best Digital Short
Another Day in the Life of Wayne Lynch
Lost Interest
Uncommon Ideals
Seven Ghosts: Tidal Fantasy
Andy’s Swell

Heavy Water
Dean Morrison
Nathan Fletcher
Laurie Towner
Bruce Irons
Mark Healey


Best Performance Award
John John Florence (Get-N-Classic)
CJ Hobgood (Year Zero)
Josh Kerr (Kerrazy Kronicles)
Carissa Moore (Leave A Message)
Dean Morrison (A Dingo’s Tale)
Yadin Nicol (Year Zero)
Dusty Payne (Lost Atlas)

Best Cinematography
Come Hell or High Water
Float: Archipelago
Lost Atlas
Sight / Sound
Year Zero

Best Documentary
Lost and Found
White Wash
Minds In The Water

Movie of the Year
Lost Atlas
Year Zero
Kerrazy Kronicles
Come Hell or High Water

2011 Best Documentary nominees: Lost and Found, Minds in the Water, Splinters and White Wash

In addition to the video categories and the unveiling of the top ten male and top five female SURFER Poll winners, honors will be presented for “Breakthrough Performer,” “Agent of Change,” and “Lifetime Achievement.”

The 41st annual SURFER Poll will take place on Dec. 6, 2011 during the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing at the Turtle Bay Resort on the North Shore of Oahu, Hawaii. Attendance is by invitation only, but the event will stream live at surferpoll.com beginning at 7 pm Hawaii time (9 pm PST) and will air live on Time Warner Cable west region in Southern California at approximately 10 pm to 2 am PST and replay on a future Sunday (TBD).

Fans can “Like” SURFER Magazine on Facebook and follow on Twitter (#surferpoll) for live behind-the-scenes insight during the show.

Special thanks to these brands for their support: Verizon Wireless, Skullcandy, Pacifico, Turtle Bay, Red Bull, Kru Vodka and New Era.