Event Windows Run April 25-29, Sept. 20-26 and Oct. 31-Nov. 7
HUNTINGTON BEACH, Calif., March 15, 2012 - The American Pro Surfing Series (APSS) is pleased to announce the debut of a homegrown California three-event surf series. Starting with the first event in late April, the south side of the Huntington Beach Pier will play host to the following two events in late September and early November.

These events are an opportunity for domestic surfers to hone their competitive mettle without leaving the country. Further, a tempting prize purse and a mountain of bragging rights will ensure a healthy mix of established progressive surfers, as well as, a slew of California legends. All surfers, except the ASP Top 34 World Title athletes, are welcome to enter.

"Through more than 25 years of organized surfing experience, I've had the opportunity to watch many of today's premier young athletes grow into some of the most talented and inspiring young men and women in the surfing community," says APSS spokesman Scott Waring. "It was with this in mind--the idea of producing a homegrown platform to support American surfers--that the APSS was born. When the first event kicks off in late April, we hope you'll join us on the shores of Huntington or online through our webcast. Here's to supporting American surfing and a stellar season."

Huntington Beach, south of the Pier, will serve as the venue for the series. With a five-day holding period, each event is scheduled to run over two days. The first event window is April 25th through April 29th; the second event September 20th through 26th; and the final event October 31st through November 7th.

A prize purse of $10,000 is on the line for the men and $2,000 for women. The contest format will be four-man heats with 50 percent elimination, starting with 64 men and 16 women.

Top athletes have already registered including Hawaiian World Champ Sunny Garcia (Sunset Beach, Haw.), Timmy Curran (Ventura, Calif.), Mason Ho (North Shore, Haw.), Chris Waring (Seal Beach, Calif.), Killian Garland (Santa Barbara, Calif.), Chris Ward (San Clemente, Calif.) and Colin Moran (Costa Mesa, Calif.) in the men's division and Sarah Taylor (Huntington Beach, Calif.), Demi Boelsterli (Santa Barbara, Calif.) and Jenna Balester (Huntington Beach, Calif.) in the women's division.

With an April 4th deadline looming, entries are filling up fast. Register here or at

All of the APSS action will be aired online via a live webcast at

Special thanks to American Pro Surfing Series sponsors: Honda, Primo, Solspot, Matunas, Zico, Sandy's Beach Grill, Surf Prescriptions, Banzai Bowls,, and Grind Media.