For Immediate Release

HUNTINGTON BEACH, Calif., April 24, 2012 — The American Pro Surfing Series (APSS), a homegrown California three-event surf series, will hold its inaugural event this Saturday and Sunday, April 28-29 on the south side of the Huntington Beach Pier. The series will host its second event in late September and the third and final event in early November.

Created by industry veteran Scott Waring, the events are an opportunity for domestic surfers to hone their competitive mettle without leaving the country. Further, a tempting prize purse and a mountain of bragging rights will ensure a healthy mix of established progressive surfers, as well as, a slew of California legends. (All surfers, except the ASP Top 34 World Title athletes, are welcome to enter.)

Huntington Beach, south of the Pier, will serve as the venue for the series. With a five-day holding period, each event is scheduled to run
over two days. The first event has been scheduled for Saturday, April 28 and Sunday, April 29 with contestable conditions forecasted. The second event¹s holding period is scheduled for September 20-26, and the final event¹s window is October 31 to November 7. Organizers will determine the best two days for competition the week prior to each event.

A prize purse of $10,000 is on the line for the men and $2,000 for women. The contest format will be four-man heats with 50 percent elimination, starting with 64 men and 16 women.

Top athletes are registered including Hawaiian World Champ Sunny Garcia (Sunset Beach, Haw.), Gabe Kling (Saint Augustine, Fla), Jesse Mendes (BRA), Jesse Merle Jones (Honolulu, Haw.), Chris Waring (Seal Beach, Calif.), Killian Garland (Santa Barbara, Calif.), Chris Ward (San
Clemente, Calif.) and Colin Moran (Costa Mesa, Calif.) in the men’s division and legendary Women¹s World Champ Lisa Andersen (Huntington
Beach, Calif.), Erica Hosseini (Newport Beach, Calif.), Anastasia Ashley (Malibu, Calif.), Sarah Taylor (Huntington Beach, Calif.), Demi Boelsterli
(Santa Barbara, Calif.) and Jenna Balester (Huntington Beach, Calif.) in the women¹s division.

All of the APSS action will be aired online via a live webcast at

Special thanks to American Pro Surfing Series sponsors: Honda, Primo, Solspot, Matunas, Zico, Sandy¹s Beach Grill, Surf Prescriptions, Banzai
Bowls, Chiquita, Dizm, Future Fins, Hilton Hotel,, and GrindMedia.


Scott Waring

Matt Mattoon