ASP Top 34 Endure Record Nine Calls Before Lay Day Decided at Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay

Jordy Smith (ZAF), 23, defending Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay winner, warming up on the lay day to end all lay days. Credit: © ASP / SCHOLTZ

JEFFREYS BAY, South Africa (Friday, July 22, 2011) - After enduring a record nine calls throughout the day, the world's best surfers were relieved at 3pm this afternoon when event organizers at the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay called competition off for the day.

Event No. 4 of 11 on the 2011 ASP World Title season, the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay called competition on this morning, but a swift deterioration in conditions prompted surfers to put the contest on hold at 8am, and despite several holds throughout the day (nine in all), conditions never manifested to get competition underway.

"It's certainly unfortunate that the projected swell and conditions never materialized today," Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. "We had the very best intentions to run today, but at the end of the day, the surfers determined the conditions were not consistent enough to recommence competition. Tomorrow is shaping up to be much better in terms of swell consistency and we'll look to get underway early."

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 6:45am to assess conditions for a possible 7am start.

Surfline, official forecasters for the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay, are calling for a solid SSW push through tonight and into tomorrow.

When competition resumes, up first will be Jeremy Flores (FRA), 23, against Daniel Ross (AUS), 28, in Heat 1 of Round 3.

Highlights from the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay will be available via

For more information, log onto

Heat 1: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Daniel Ross (AUS)
Heat 2: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 3: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 4: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 5: Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 6: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 7: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 8: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 9: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 10: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 11: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 12: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Josh Kerr (AUS)