JEFFREYS BAY, South Africa (Saturday, July 11, 2009) – After assessing the at-times promising conditions this morning, event organizers have called Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay competition off for the day, acknowledging the clean, three-to-four (1 metre) yet inconsistent waves on offer.

Stop No. 5 of 10 on the 2009 ASP World Tour, the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay yet to commence competition, but swell models indicate that this could change as early as tomorrow.

“We went on hold a couple of times this morning as the odd set would tease us but ultimately decided to call competition off for the day,” Mike Parsons, Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay Contest Director, said. “Swell models are looking good for a start tomorrow, but we’ll be back at 7am to assess conditions. It’s looking more and more like we’ll be running the new format, but we haven’t made an official decision on that yet.”

The Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay has the option to run either the traditional or new competition formats, as well as utilize the overlapping heats system for either. Event organizers will determine which format they will use in accordance with the conditions.

The opening day of the waiting period saw the completion of the VonZipper Trials, where Devyn Mattheys (ZAF) Heath Joske (AUS) and Torrey Meister (HAW) were victorious in their three respective heats, earning wildcard berths into the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay.

The other two wildcards have been awarded to Shaun Holmes (ZAF), 31, and Ryan Payne (ZAF), 26.

The waiting period for the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay runs through July 19, 2009.

Event organizers will meet tomorrow morning at 7am to assess conditions for a possible 7:30am start.

The Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay will be webcast LIVE via

For more information, log onto



Heat 1: Tim Boal (FRA) vs. Michael Picon (FRA)

Heat 2: Jay Thompson (AUS) vs. Nathaniel Curran (USA)

Heat 3: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Nic Muscroft (AUS)

Heat 4: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. Phillip MacDonald (AUS)

Heat 5: Dean Morrison (AUS) vs. Marlon Lipke (DEU)

Heat 6: Chris Ward (USA) vs. Torrey Meister (HAW)

Heat 7: Dustin Barca (HAW) vs. Sean Holmes (ZAF)

Heat 8: Kekoa Bacalso (HAW) vs. Ryan Payne (ZAF)

Heat 9: Tim Reyes (USA) vs. Devyn Mattheys (ZAF)

Heat 10: Dayyan Neve (AUS) vs. Heath Joske (AUS)

Heat 11: Heitor Alves (BRA) vs. Greg Emslie (ZAF)

Heat 12: Chris Davidson (AUS) vs. David Weare (ZAF)

Heat 13: Aritz Aranburu (EUK) vs. Michel Bourez (PYF)

Heat 14: Jihad Khodr (BRA) vs. Roy Powers (HAW)

Heat 15: Tiago Pires (PRT) vs. Ben Dunn (AUS)

Heat 16: Dane Reynolds (USA) vs. Drew Courtney (AUS)


Heat 1: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. TBA

Heat 2: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) vs. TBA

Heat 3: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. TBA

Heat 4: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. TBA

Heat 5: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs. TBA

Heat 6: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs. TBA

Heat 7: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. TBA

Heat 8: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. TBA

Heat 9: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. TBA

Heat 10: Mick Campbell (AUS) vs. TBA

Heat 11: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. TBA

Heat 12: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. TBA

Heat 13: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. TBA

Heat 14: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. TBA

Heat 15: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. TBA

Heat 16: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. TBA



Heat 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Tim Boal (FRA), Michael Picon (FRA)

Heat 2: Tom Whitaker (AUS), Jay Thompson (AUS), Nathaniel Curran (USA)

Heat 3: Bobby Martinez (USA), Josh Kerr (AUS), Nic Muscroft (AUS)

Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS), Phillip MacDonald (AUS)

Heat 5: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Dean Morrison (AUS), Marlon Lipke (DEU)

Heat 6: C.J. Hobgood (USA), Chris Ward (USA), Torrey Meister (HAW)

Heat 7: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Dustin Barca (HAW), Sean Holmes (ZAF)

Heat 8: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Kekoa Bacalso (HAW), Ryan Payne (ZAF)

Heat 9: Taj Burrow (AUS), Tim Reyes (USA), Devyn Mattheys (ZAF)

Heat 10: Kelly Slater (USA), Dayyan Neve (AUS), Heath Joske (AUS)

Heat 11: Damien Hobgood (USA), Heitor Alves (BRA), Greg Emslie (ZAF)

Heat 12: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Chris Davidson (AUS), David Weare (ZAF)

Heat 13: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Aritz Aranburu (EUK), Michel Bourez (PYF)

Heat 14: Taylor Knox (USA), Jihad Khodr (BRA), Roy Powers (HAW)

Heat 15: Mick Campbell (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT), Ben Dunn (AUS)

Heat 16: Kieren Perrow (AUS), Dane Reynolds (USA), Drew Courtney (AUS)