JEFFREYS BAY, South Africa (Monday, July 13, 2009) – The Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay will commence this morning at 7:30am in clean three-to-five (1.5 metre) surf at South Africa’s iconic pointbreak.

Stop No. 5 of 10 on the 2009 ASP World Tour, the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay has seen the ASP Top 45 survive through four consecutive lay days, but today’s improved conditions will have the world’s best surfers in the water.

“We’ve got the beginning of what could turn into a really good day of waves out there this morning and we’ll be getting underway at 7:30am,” Mike Parsons, Billabong Pro Contest Director, said. “Recent swell projections have prompted us to activate the new competition format so we can make the most of the conditions on offer, but we will not be running the dual-heat system today.”

The new ASP competition format will see man-on-man, elimination heats from the outset of competition this morning, resulting in a day of dramatic match-ups.

First up this morning with be 2009 ASP Dream Tour rookie Tim Boal (FRA), 26, up against compatriot Michael Picon (FRA), 30.

The Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay will be webcast LIVE via www.billabongpro.com

For more information, log onto www.aspworldtour.com

The Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay can also be followed via your mobile phone. Anyone with a 3G or GPRS enabled phone can log onto asptogo.com from their mobile browser. Content is updated real time as per the webcast – event status, results, live scores, news, photos and video highlights along with ASP World Tour ratings tables.

For more information go to http://aspworldtour.com/2009/aspmobile.asp


Heat 1: Tim Boal (FRA) vs. Michael Picon (FRA)

Heat 2: Jay Thompson (AUS) vs. Nathaniel Curran (USA)

Heat 3: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Nic Muscroft (AUS)

Heat 4: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. Phillip MacDonald (AUS)

Heat 5: Dean Morrison (AUS) vs. Marlon Lipke (DEU)

Heat 6: Chris Ward (USA) vs. Torrey Meister (HAW)

Heat 7: Dustin Barca (HAW) vs. Sean Holmes (ZAF)

Heat 8: Kekoa Bacalso (HAW) vs. Ryan Payne (ZAF)

Heat 9: Tim Reyes (USA) vs. Devyn Mattheys (ZAF)

Heat 10: Dayyan Neve (AUS) vs. Heath Joske (AUS)

Heat 11: Heitor Alves (BRA) vs. Greg Emslie (ZAF)

Heat 12: Chris Davidson (AUS) vs. David Weare (ZAF)

Heat 13: Aritz Aranburu (EUK) vs. Michel Bourez (PYF)

Heat 14: Jihad Khodr (BRA) vs. Roy Powers (HAW)

Heat 15: Tiago Pires (PRT) vs. Ben Dunn (AUS)

Heat 16: Dane Reynolds (USA) vs. Drew Courtney (AUS)


Heat 1: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. TBA

Heat 2: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) vs. TBA

Heat 3: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. TBA

Heat 4: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. TBA

Heat 5: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs. TBA

Heat 6: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs. TBA

Heat 7: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. TBA

Heat 8: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. TBA

Heat 9: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. TBA

Heat 10: Mick Campbell (AUS) vs. TBA

Heat 11: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. TBA

Heat 12: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. TBA

Heat 13: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. TBA

Heat 14: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. TBA

Heat 15: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. TBA

Heat 16: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. TBA