Billabong Pro Tahiti Calls Lay Day as Swell Marches Through Pacific Towards Teahupo’o

The calm before the story at the Billabong Pro Tahiti presented by Air Tahiti Nui. Credit: © ASP / SCHOLTZ

TEAHUPO'O, Taiarapu/French Polynesia (Wednesday, August 24, 2011) - With surf remaining in the three-to-four foot (1 metre) range at Teahupo'o, event organizers at the Billabong Pro Tahiti presented by Air Tahiti Nui, Event No. 5 of 11 on the 2011 ASP World Title season, have called competition off for the day, looking to potentially recommence tomorrow morning

"This next fetch of swell is looking to be very strong but isn't scheduled to fill in until later today," Pritamo Ahrendt, ASP International Head Judge, said. "We've called competition off for the day and it looks like tomorrow has a real possibility of recommencing competition with Round 2 in some really solid conditions."

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 6:30am to assess conditions for a possible 7:30am start.

When competition resumes, up first will be Jeremy Flores (FRA), 23, and Heiarii Williams (PYF), 23, in the opening heat of Round 2.

Highlights from the Billabong Pro Tahiti presented by Air Tahiti Nui will be available via

Surfline, official forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti, are calling for a gradual building trend through this afternoon, with very solid south-southwest swell for Thursday and Friday. An even larger and major south-southwest swell is due for Saturday, before fading Sunday. Building and breezy ESE/E trades prevail for the end of the week and into the weekend.

For more information, log onto

Heat 1: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Heiarii Williams (PYF)
Heat 2: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Ricardo dos Santos (BRA)
Heat 3: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 4: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 5: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 6: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Josh Kerr (AUS)
Heat 7: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Daniel Ross (AUS)
Heat 8: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 9: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 10: Patrick Gudauskas (USA) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 11: Alejo Muniz (BRA) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 12: Heitor Alves (BRA) vs. Chris Davidson (AUS)