Competition Called Off for Billabong Rio Pro

The main event site of the Billabong Rio Pro, Barra Da Tajuca. Credit: ASP / CESTARI

BARRA DA TIJUCA, Rio De Janeiro/ Brazil (Wednesday, May 11, 2011) - After monitoring conditions throughout the morning, event organizers have called competition off for the Billabong Rio Pro today due to six foot (2 metre) closeout waves at the main event site of Barra Da Tijuca.

"We went on hold this morning in hopes that conditions would clean up but the waves are still mostly closing out," Pritamo Ahrendt, ASP International Judge said. "We've got plenty of time remaining in the waiting period and would rather wait for better conditions to start the contest."

Up first will be 2010 ASP Rookie of the year Owen Wright (AUS), 21, Heitor Alves (BRA), 29, and Bobby Martinez (USA), 29, when competition begins.

Running in conjunction with the Billabong Rio Pro is stop No. 5 of 7 on the ASP Women's World Tour. The ASP Top 17 waiting period begins tomorrow, May 12 and runs through May 16.

Billabong Rio Pro Organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 7am local time to assess conditions for a possible 7:30 start.

The men's Billabong Rio Pro holds a waiting period from May 11 through 22 and is webcast LIVE via

For additional ASP information log on to

Heat 1: Owen Wright (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA), Bobby Martinez (USA)
Heat 2: Adrian Buchan (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), TBA
Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW), TBA
Heat 5: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Patrick Gudauskas (USA), TBA
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA), Julian Wilson (AUS), TBA
Heat 7: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA), Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Josh Kerr (AUS)
Heat 9: Damien Hobgood (USA), Tiago Pires (PRT), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 10: Michel Bourez (PYF), Chris Davidson (AUS), Cory Lopez (USA)
Heat 11: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Daniel Ross (AUS)
Heat 12: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Taylor Knox (USA)

Heat 1: Tyler Wright (AUS), Courtney Conlogue (BRA), Claire Bevilacqua (AUS)
Heat 2: Silvana Lima (BRA), Paige Hareb (NZL), Felicity Palmateer (AUS)
Heat 3: Carissa Moore (HAW), Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS), Maya Gabeira (BRA)
Heat 4: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Laura Enever (AUS), Andrea Lopes (BRA)
Heat 5: Stepahnie Gilmore (AUS), Pauline Ado (FRA), Suelen Naraisa (BRA)
Heat 6: Coco Ho (HAW), Sofia Mulanovich (PER), Alana Blanchard (HAW)