Final Day is ON at the 2009 Xcel Pro Presented by Honolua!

HALEIWA, OAHU, HAWAII – NOVEMBER 2, 2009 – The 2009 Xcel Pro Presented by Honolua is ON today, with a champion to be determined by 11:00 AM HST. '09 Xcel Pro Day 2

Sunset is in the 6′ – 8′ range and clean this morning, offering less size than yesterday on Day 2 but still solid, high-performance conditions.

Final day action will begin with the first of two semi-finals paddling out at 9:00 AM HST, featuring defending Xcel Pro champion Pancho Sullivan, Sean Moody, Charlie Carroll, and Myles Padaca. Danny Fuller, Shane Beschen, Hank Gaskell, and Daniel Jones will face off in semi #2.

The all-Hawaiian semi-finals guarantees yet another local Xcel Pro champion, as 24 out of 25 past Xcel Pro winners hail from Oahu and the outer-islands.

A $5,000 winner’s check awaits the 2009 Xcel Pro champ, as well as 500 ASP WQS points, and an all-expenses-paid trip to Tahiti, including entry into the 2010 VonZipper Teahupoo Trials – an opportunity to earn a wild card spot at the WCT Billabong Pro Tahiti.

Heat results, photos, and daily video recaps are all available at the official event Web site at

Official Xcel Pro merchandise is available exclusively online via presenting sponsor Honolua’s Web shop at

About the Xcel Pro
Celebrating its 26th anniversary this year, the 2009 Xcel Pro Presented by Honolua is a 2-Star ASP WQS event with a $25,000 purse, drawing pros and amateurs alike to world-class Sunset Beach along Oahu’s North Shore.

Honolua Surf Co. is the presenting sponsor of the event and is joined by associate sponsors VonZipper, Kustom, and Surfline. Surf News Network also supports the event as the official contest hotline (808-596-7873).

For more, please visit the contest Web site at

Xcel Pro Past Champions

1984 Kerry Terukina
1985 Denton Miyamura
1986 Hans Hedemann
1987 Ronnie Burns
1988 Michael Ho
1989 Richard Schmidt
1990 Michael Ho
1991 Michael Ho
1992 Sunny Garcia
1993 Kaipo Jaquias
1994 Derek Ho
1995 Kaipo Jaquias
1996 Michael Ho

1997 Andy Irons
1998 Pancho Sullivan
1999 Bruce Irons
2000 Pancho Sullivan
2001 Gavin Beschen
2002 Fred Pattachia
2003 Pancho Sullivan
2004 Fred Pattachia
2005 Ian Walsh
2006 Evan Valiere
2007 Joel Centeio
2008 Pancho Sullivan

About Xcel
Founded in 1982, Xcel International, Inc. (Xcel) is a global wetsuit brand distributed throughout the Americas, Europe, Asia, and the Pacific Rim. Headquartered on the North Shore of Oahu, Hawaii, Xcel’s core wetsuit business focuses on the cutting edge of material and design development. Xcel’s primary markets include surf, dive, wakeboard, paddle, and sun (UV protection). In addition to its North Shore office, Xcel has retail locations on Oahu, Kauai, and Maui; and a warehouse/repair facility in California.

To learn more about Xcel, please visit