Holding Pattern Continues for Quiksilver Pro Puerto Escondido

quik-pro-lay-dayPUERTO ESCONDIDO, Mexico (Sunday, August 16, 2009) – Event organizers of the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Qualifying Series (WQS) 3-Star Quiksilver Pro Puerto Escondido have decided to call competition off for the third consecutive day today with an anticipated swell looming on the horizon.
“It’s still small and we still have three days left in the waiting period and plenty of time to finish,” Contest Director Gary Linden said. “We should start to see signs of the new swell throughout the day and I think it’s best to come back tomorrow morning to utilize the best possible conditions for competitors.”
The Quiksilver Pro Puerto Escondido’s infamous location of Playa Zicatela or the 'Mexican Pipeline’ has brought a diverse group of surfing talent to the small Mexican surf-town, including up-and-coming surfers out to establish their seed on The Grind towards qualification for the ASP World tour, big-wave barrel hunters and a local pack of Puerto Escondido specialists, all of whom are out to claim the inaugural Quiksilver Pro Puerto Escondido title.
The first two days of competition saw standout performances from local surfers such as Christian Corzo (Puerto Escondido, MEX), who netted a near-perfect 19.60 out of 20 heat total to move on to Round 3, while Californian Blake Howard (Carpenteria, CA), 26, donated an impressive barrel-riding clinic on his forehand to win his Round 3 heat.
Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 7am local time for a possible 7:30am start.
For LIVE action, photos and highlights of the Quiksilver Pro Puerto Escondido log on to www.quiksilver.com/puerto
For additional ASP information log on to www.aspworldtour.com or www.aspnorthamerica.org
Remaining Quiksilver Pro Puerto Escondido Round 2 Heats: (1st and 2nd advance)
Heat 14: Dylan Southworth (MEX), Matt Johnson (USA), Oscar Davo (MEX), David Rutherford (MEX)
Heat 15: Alvaro Bacana (BRA), Magnum Martinez (VEN), Ramon Navarro (CHL), Adam Lambert (USA)
Heat 16: Gabriel Villaran (PER), Pedro Fernandez (DOM), Kyle Buthman (USA), Andres DeMarco (MEX)