Hurley Pro Trestles ON As World's Best Battle Through Round 1

adsbmp08rowlandbig1LOWER TRESTLES, California (Sunday, September 13, 2009) – Round 1 of the Hurley Pro Trestles is on this morning with the world’s best surfers tackling the two-to-three foot (1 metre) waves on offer this morning at Lower Trestles.

Event No. 6 of 10 on the 2009 ASP World Tour, the Hurley Pro Trestles will be running the tradition format, with all 48 competitors contesting Round 1 today.
“We’ve got some two-to-four foot waves today and plan on running as many heats as we can,” Pat O’Connell, Hurley Pro Trestles Contest Director, said. “Although we have some south-wind and the swell is out of the northwest, we’re really lucky to have waves since there is not much activity in the South Pacific. Today’s conditions are really consistent and there will be plenty of opportunity for surfers to get several waves in there heats.”
Surfline, official forecasters of the Hurley Pro Trestles, is calling for a small fetch of Northwest swell in the next couple of days before a possible south swell later in the week.
The Hurley Pro Trestles is hosting the ASP 45 from September 13 – 19, 2009.
Up first this morning will be Tom Whitaker (AUS), 29, Ben Dunn (AUS), 23, and Michael Picon (FRA), 30, in Heat 1 Round 1 of the Hurley Pro Trestles.
The event will be webcast LIVE via

For more information, log onto


Heat 1: Tom Whitaker (AUS), Ben Dunn (AUS), Michael Picon (FRA)

Heat 2: Damien Hobgood (USA), Dustin Barca (HAW), Drew Courtney (AUS)

Heat 3: Bobby Martinez (USA), Dayyan Neve (AUS), David Weare (ZAF)

Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS), Chris Ward (USA), Nic Muscroft (AUS)

Heat 5: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Tim Reyes (USA), Luke Stedman (AUS)

Heat 6: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Dane Reynolds (USA), Phillip MacDonald (AUS)

Heat 7: C.J. Hobgood (USA), Kekoa Bacalso (HAW), Marlon Lipke (DEU)

Heat 8: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Kai Otton (AUS), Kai Barger (HAW)

Heat 9: Kelly Slater (USA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Rob Machado (USA)

Heat 10: Taj Burrow (AUS), Dean Morrison (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA)

Heat 11: Taylor Knox (USA), Chris Davidson (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT)

Heat 12: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Michel Bourez (PYF), Greg Emslie (ZAF)

Heat 13: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Josh Kerr (AUS), Jihad Khodr (BRA)

Heat 14: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Jay Thompson (AUS), Aritz Aranburu (EUK)

Heat 15: Mick Campbell (AUS), Tim Boal (FRA), Nathaniel Curran (USA)

Heat 16: Kieren Perrow (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA), Roy Powers (HAW)