Lay Day Called for Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay

Dusty Payne (HAW), 22, was a standout in yesterday's Round 1, and will wait for the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay to recommence when the swell reappears. Credit: © ASP / SCHOLTZ

JEFFREYS BAY, South Africa (Saturday, July 16, 2011) - Event organizers at the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay have called competition off for the day after a significant drop in swell overnight.

The fourth stop on the 2011 ASP World Title season, the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay saw Round 1 completed yesterday in high-performance conditions, but today's smaller surf has prompted event organizers to call a lay day in hopes of seeing improved conditions later in the event window.

"The surf has dropped over night and we've called the event off for the day," Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. "We'll be monitoring the swell models very closely over the next few days in order to take advantage of the best conditions on offer."

Kelly Slater (USA), 39, reigning 10-time ASP World Champion, and Bobby Martinez (USA), 29, failed to show for yesterday's Round 1 of competition. Should either surfer fail to show for Round 2, they will be replaced under the new ASP ruling.

When competition resumes, up first will be reigning 10-time ASP World Champion Kelly Slater (USA), 39, (or replacement) up against wildcard Shaun Payne (ZAF), 26.

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 7am to assess conditions for a possible 7:30am start.

Highlights from the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay will be available via

For more information, log onto

Heat 1: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Shaun Payne (ZAF)
Heat 2: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Sean Holmes (ZAF)
Heat 3: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Bobby Martinez (USA)
Heat 4: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 5: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 6: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Cory Lopez (USA)
Heat 7: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 8: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 9: Brett Simpson (USA) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 10: Patrick Gudauskas (USA) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 11: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. C.J. Hobgood (USA)
Heat 12: Matt Wilkinson (AUS) vs. Chris Davidson (AUS)