Lay Day Called for Billabong Pro Tahiti as ASP Top 34 Eye Bigger Game

TEAHUPO'O, Taiarapu/French Polynesia (Monday, August 22, 2011) - A second consecutive lay day has been called for the Billabong Pro Tahiti presented by Air Tahiti Nui, Event No. 5 of 11 on the 2011 ASP World Title season. Despite clean four-foot (1.5 metre) surf on offer this morning at Teahupo'o, the world's best are opting for the bigger swell coming in the next few days before recommencing competition.

"We have waves on hand this morning but we've called a lay day in favor of bigger surf coming on the charts," Pritamo Ahrendt, ASP International Head Judge, said. "We want to see all the surfers have the opportunity to surf Teahupo'o when it's really solid - that's why we come here. It looks like there will be plenty of opportunity for that in the coming days."

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 6:30am to assess conditions for a possible 7:30am start.

When competition resumes, up first will be Jeremy Flores (FRA), 23, and Heiarii Williams (PYF), 23, in the opening heat of Round 2.

Highlights from the Billabong Pro Tahiti presented by Air Tahiti Nui will be available via

Surfline, official forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti, are calling for a new, medium size south swell to move in today before easing Tuesday. A major south-southwest swell remains on track for Thursday-Friday, with another very strong southwest swell looking likely for the weekend. Wind will be very light though Tuesday, with building and breezy easterly trades for the end of the week.

For more information, log onto

Heat 1: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Heiarii Williams (PYF)
Heat 2: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Ricardo dos Santos (BRA)
Heat 3: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 4: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 5: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 6: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Josh Kerr (AUS)
Heat 7: Michel Bourez (PYF) vs. Daniel Ross (AUS)
Heat 8: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 9: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)
Heat 10: Patrick Gudauskas (USA) vs. Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 11: Alejo Muniz (BRA) vs. Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 12: Heitor Alves (BRA) vs. Chris Davidson (AUS)