JEFFREYS BAY, South Africa (Sunday, July 12, 2009) – Small surf in the one-to-two foot (0.5 metre) range has forced another lay day for the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay, it's fourth consecutive in as many days into the waiting period.

Event No. 5 of 10 on the 2009 ASP World Tour, the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay has yet to commence competition, and with swell opportunities dwindling, event organizers are leaning towards utilizing the new competition format to capitalize on conditions available.

"No surf on offer today at Jeffreys Bay so competition has been called off," Mike Parsons, Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay Contest Director, said. "We're still expecting some good surf tomorrow and by the look of things, we'll be running with the new format. We have the option to run dual heats and will assess the conditions before making a decision on that."

The opening day of the waiting period saw the completion of the VonZipper Trials, where Devyn Mattheys (ZAF) Heath Joske (AUS) and Torrey Meister (HAW) were victorious in their three respective heats, earning wildcard berths into the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay.

The other two wildcards have been awarded to Shaun Holmes (ZAF), 31, and Ryan Payne (ZAF), 26.

The waiting period for the Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay runs through July 19, 2009.

Event organizers will meet tomorrow morning at 7am to assess conditions for a possible 7:30am start.

The Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay will be webcast LIVE via

For more information, log onto

The Billabong Pro Jeffreys Bay can also be followed via your mobile phone. Anyone with a 3G or GPRS enabled phone can log onto from their mobile browser. Content is updated real time as per the webcast – event status, results, live scores, news, photos and video highlights along with ASP World Tour ratings tables.

For more information go to



Heat 1: Tim Boal (FRA) vs. Michael Picon (FRA)

Heat 2: Jay Thompson (AUS) vs. Nathaniel Curran (USA)

Heat 3: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Nic Muscroft (AUS)

Heat 4: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. Phillip MacDonald (AUS)

Heat 5: Dean Morrison (AUS) vs. Marlon Lipke (DEU)

Heat 6: Chris Ward (USA) vs. Torrey Meister (HAW)

Heat 7: Dustin Barca (HAW) vs. Sean Holmes (ZAF)

Heat 8: Kekoa Bacalso (HAW) vs. Ryan Payne (ZAF)

Heat 9: Tim Reyes (USA) vs. Devyn Mattheys (ZAF)

Heat 10: Dayyan Neve (AUS) vs. Heath Joske (AUS)

Heat 11: Heitor Alves (BRA) vs. Greg Emslie (ZAF)

Heat 12: Chris Davidson (AUS) vs. David Weare (ZAF)

Heat 13: Aritz Aranburu (EUK) vs. Michel Bourez (PYF)

Heat 14: Jihad Khodr (BRA) vs. Roy Powers (HAW)

Heat 15: Tiago Pires (PRT) vs. Ben Dunn (AUS)

Heat 16: Dane Reynolds (USA) vs. Drew Courtney (AUS)


Heat 1: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. TBA

Heat 2: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) vs. TBA

Heat 3: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. TBA

Heat 4: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. TBA

Heat 5: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs. TBA

Heat 6: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs. TBA

Heat 7: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. TBA

Heat 8: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. TBA

Heat 9: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. TBA

Heat 10: Mick Campbell (AUS) vs. TBA

Heat 11: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. TBA

Heat 12: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. TBA

Heat 13: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. TBA

Heat 14: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. TBA

Heat 15: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. TBA

Heat 16: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. TBA