Lay Day for O'Neill Cold Water Classic California and Oakley Pro Junior

SANTA CRUZ, California (Thursday, November 5, 2009) – After spending the day on hold in hopes of improved conditions, event organizers were forced to call a lay day for both the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Qualifying Series (WQS) 6-Star PRIME O’Neill Cold Water Classic California and Oakley Pro Junior ASP North America Championships.

“After spending the day on hold the conditions haven’t improved, so we’re calling competition off for today,” Darren Brilhart, O’Neill Cold Water Classic California Contest Director, said. “We’re expecting swell to increase and will be back at 7am for a possible 7:30am start.”

Yesterday’s action saw the finest regional standouts tackle several international campaigners at the event backup site of Waddell Creek and the hungry up-and-comers battled through Rounds one and two to decide the event’s Quarterfinalists.

This year’s O’Neill Cold Water Classic California has been upgraded to an ASP 6-Star PRIME, offering the maximum amount of points towards qualification for the 2010 ASP World Tour. Several top pro surfers still remain in the draw, including current ASP World Tour surfers Jordy Smith (Durban, ZAF), 21, current ASP World No. 3 Adriano de Souza (Guaruja Sao Paulo, BRA), 22, and Californians Timmy Reyes (Huntington Beach, CA), 27, and Nathaniel Curran (Oxnard, CA). Top ASP WQS surfers include Brett Simpson (Huntington Beach, CA), 24, Dusty Payne (Lahaina, HI), 20, and Adam Melling (Lennox Head, AUS), 23.

All surfers competing on the ASP North America Pro Junior Series are out to compile their top four results of 2009 to finish within the top three on the regional series to earn a berth for the 2010 ASP World Junior Championships held in Narrabeen, Australia each January. The Oakley Pro Junior ASP North America Championships’ Grade-3 status plays a vital role in all of the top seeds’ final standing on the regional ratings.

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow at 7am for a potential 7:30am start. For all of the LIVE O’Neill Cold Water Classic California and Oakley Pro Junior ASP North America Championships action log on to

For additional Oakley Pro Junior action check out

For ASP info check out or

Upcoming O’Neill Cold Water Classic California Round of 96 Heats:
Heat 16: Dusty Payne (Lahaina HI), Lincoln Taylor (AUS), Mason Ho (HAW), Dylan Southworth (MEX)
Heat 17: Adam Melling (AUS), Jack Perry (AUS), Tonino Benson (HAW), Torrey Meister (HAW)
Heat 18: Jarrad Howse (AUS), Adam Robertson (AUS), Chris Waring (USA), Anthony Petruso (USA)
Heat 19: Wiggoly Dantas (BRA), Mark Mathews (AUS), Jesse Heilman (USA), Gavin Gilette (HAW)
Heat 20: Brett Simpson (USA), Dylan Graves (PRI), Brad Ettinger (USA), Izuki Tanaka (JPN)
Heat 21: Austin Ware (USA), T.J. Barron (HAW), Thiago Camarao (BRA), Sean Holmes (ZAF)
Heat 22: Luke Munro (AUS), Eric Geiselman (USA), Alex Gray (USA), Kieran Horn (USA)
Heat 23: Neco Padaratz (BRA), Jean da Silva (BRA), Blake Jones (USA), Jason Miller (USA)
Heat 24: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Sean Ward (USA), John John Florence (HAW), Tom Curren (USA)

Upcoming Oakley Pro Junior Quarterfinals Heats:
Heat 1:Alejo Muniz (BRA), Tonino Benson (HAW), Andrew Doheny (USA), Conner Coffin (USA)
Heat 2: Cody Thompson (USA), Matt Meola (HAW), Luke Davis (USA), Fisher Heverly (USA)
Heat 3: Dylan Goodale (HAW), Evan Thompson (USA), Evan Geiselman (USA), Michael Dunphy (USA)
Heat 4: Nat Young (USA), Cory Arrambide (USA), Dillon Perillo (USA), Kolohe Andino (USA)