Lay Day for Yumeya presents Oxbow WLT at Tahara

TAHARA, Japan (Tuesday, July 28, 2009) – The waiting period for the first of two Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Longboard Tour (WLT) events began this morning with the Yumeya presents Oxbow WLT at Tahara, but unfavorable weather and small surf have forced event officials to call competition off for today.

“Due to adverse weather and small surf we’ve decided to call a lay-day today,” ASP WLT Manager, Al Hunt said. “We’re expecting an increase in swell and are waiting for conditions to improve to start the contest.”
Yesterday’s action saw the top 13 ASP LQS Japan competitors and three local talents battle it out for a spot in the main event and Taiki Mori (JPN) was the victor. The Japanese native will face off against defending ASP WLT Champion Bonga Perkins (HAW), 36, when competition begins.

Also surfing in the Yumeya presents Oxbow WLT at Tahara will be former ASP WLT Champion Phil Rajzman (BRA), 27, American talent Taylor Jensen (USA), 25, Australian Standout Harley Ingleby (AUS), 25, and last year’s ASP WLT runner up Antione Delpero (FRA), 24.

The Yumeya presents Oxbow WLT at Tahara will run from July 28 through August 2, 2009 and will be wecast LIVE via

For additional ASP information log on to
Upcoming Round of 32 Yumeya presents Oxbow WLT at Tahara Heats:
Heat 1: Eduardo Bage (BRA) vs. Dane Pioli (AUS)
Heat 2: Amaro Matos (BRA) vs. Kai Sallas (HAW)
Heat 3: Duane de Soto (HAW) vs. Ben Skinner (GBR)
Heat 4: Matthew Moir (ZAF) vs. Remi Arauzo (FRA)
Heat 5: Ned Snow (HAW) vs. David Kinoshita (JPN)
Heat 6 :Alex Salazar (BRA) vs. Keegan Edwards (HAW)
Heat 7: Jared Neal (AUS) vs. Josh Baxter (USA)
Heat 8: Bonga Perkins (HAW) vs. Taiki Mori (USA)
Heat 9: Antione Delpero (FRA) vs. Nobuhiru Ogashira (JPN)
Heat 10: Carlos Bahia (BRA) vs. Sam Bleakley (GBR)
Heat 11: Phil Rajzman (BRA) vs. Noah Shimabukuro (HAW)
Heat 12: Taylor Jensen (USA) vs. Alexis Deniel (FRA)
Heat 13: Harley Ingleby (AUS) vs. Dylan Macleod (ZAF)
Heat 14: Bryce Young (AUS) vs. Josh Constable (AUS)
Heat 15: Colin McPhillips (USA) vs. Tony Silvagni (USA)
Heat 16: Romain Maunn (FRA) vs. Jeremias da Silva (BRA)