Lay Days Continue at Billabong Pro Tahiti

Competition's off for the day with only small surf on offer at Teahupo’o

Small, but beautiful, surf continues at the Billabong Pro Tahiti. Photo: ASP

TEAHUPO'O, Taiarapu/Tahiti (Friday, August 24, 2012) - Event organizers at the Billabong Pro Tahiti, Event No. 5 of 10 on the 2012 ASP World Championship Tour, have called competition off for the day with only small surf on offer at Teahupo'o.

"Small surf again today for we've called a lay day for the Billabong Pro," Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. "We expect surf to fill in this afternoon and through the next few days. We'll be back to make another call tomorrow."

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 6:30am to assess conditions for a possible 7am start.

Surfline, official forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti, are calling for a slight pick up in swell today, although the surf will remain small scale. A medium size SW ground swell will move in for the end of the waiting period, strongest on Sunday, with a solid south swell building in Sunday afternoon and continuing Monday. Strong Easttrades prevail Friday through the weekend, shifting more ENE/NE on Monday.

When competition resumes, up first will be two-time ASP World Champion and current ASP WCT No. 1 Mick Fanning (AUS), 31, up against Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), 30, in the opening heat of Round 3.

Highlights from the Billabong Pro Tahiti will be available via

For more information, log onto

The Billabong Pro, Tahiti is made possible with the valued support of international partners Air Tahiti Nui, Sony, Xperia Sony Smartphone and Red Bull, along with our friends at Nixon, VonZipper, Mana and Hyundai.

Heat 1: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 2: Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Adrian Buchan (AUS)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Kai Ottonn (AUS)
Heat 4: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Heat 5: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Michel Bourez (PYF)
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Ricardo dos Santos (BRA)
Heat 7: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 8: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 9: Josh Kerr (AUS) vs. Damien Hobgood (USA)
Heat 10: John John Florence (HAW) vs. Brett Simpson (USA)
Heat 11: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Alejo Muniz (BRA)
Heat 12: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)