Pumping Keramas a Tube Fest on Day 3 of Quiksilver Open 2009

dedi-gun-deep-7391As promised, the action today at the Quiksilver Open 2009 presented by Jim Beam was nothing short of hot and heavy. The booming 4-6 foot sets that were blasting onto the lava bottomed reef of Keramas were launching big walls and meaty barrels in a stellar continuation of Men’s Open competition in the final Coca-Cola ISC Tour event of the year.

Making a rare appearance in an ISC tour event the year and absolutely killing it today was Made “Bol” Adi Putra, a previous ISC tour champion. In his Round 1 heat against fellow goofy footer Komang “Gogo” Sujaya of Kuta and Sandi Slamet from West Java, Adi Putra swung around and buried himself deep into an insanely long barrel to exit with the top score of the day, a 9.25.

Adi Putra followed that up with another barrel that got him an 8.5 for the top combination of scores for the day, a 17.75, to win the heat, then later went on to win his Round 3 heat as well. He will be one to watch going down to the final, as it appears that the knee injury he sustained earlier in the year isn’t holding him up at all, going backside at Keramas.

Round 2 and the first four heats of Round 3 were completed today before letting the Masters out into the lineup to complete their two semifinals and tee up the top four surfers who will compete in the Masters Final.

At the horn in Semifinal 1 it was Jake Paterson and Ketut Wirtawan advancing, and joining them from Semifinal 2 will be Nyoman Wastika and Ketut Menda. The Masters Final will take place on the final day of the Quiksilver Open.

In the tight and tense race for the 2009 Coca-Cola Indonesian Surfing Championship, top ranked surfers Lee Wilson and Raditya Rondi kept their run for the crown alive today by advancing into Round 4. Tomorrow will see the other top-5 ranked surfers, Made Widiarta, Dedy Santoso, and Dede Suryana, battling it out for their Round 4 berths, so it should be another dramatic day at the beach for them and for the fans who are rooting on their favorite surfer.

After the Masters had their share of the still glassy Keramas waves, the Roxy Open Women’s Division Finalists took to the water at just before 11:00 am to vie for the trophy and winners check of Rp 2.5 million. The sun was blazing and the sand was burning, so the girls lost no time in getting out into the water and getting started. Mina Nagasima from Japan got right to work, belting the lip after digging deep bottom turns to taking the lead and eventually the win.

Chasing her was Yasnyiar “Bonne” Gea from Nias, who weaved and carved her way to a second place finish over Gee Cormack from Australia. Rounding out the podium was Royahe from Sumatra, who fell ill just before the start but gamely went out and gave it a go.

After receiving the winner’s check and trophy from Quiksilver’s Contest Director and ex-pro surfer Jake Paterson, Mina thanked him and said, “I’m so happy to have won this contest…it’s the first time for me to win here in Bali. I come to Bali a few times every year because I really love surfing here, the beaches, and the people. Now I really like winning the Roxy contest. Thanks so much everybody!

Tomorrow’s swell forecast is calling for a slight increase in size, a longer swell period, and even less wind, so everything looks about as perfect as it can get for a lot of crazy surfing to be going down here at Keramas for the completion of Rounds 3 and 4 and maybe into the Quarterfinals.

The contest organizers are calling for a 6:00 am start, so all the competitors are required to be at the beach at 5:30 am.

Roxy Open Women’s Results

1. Mina Nagashima (Japan)
2. Yasnyiar “Bonne” Gea (Ind)
3. Gee Cormack (Aus)
4. Febri “Royahe” Rahmaningsih (Ind)

Video links to Day 3 Action:


The Quiksilver Open and Roxy Open are proudly sponsored by Quiksilver Indonesia, Presented by Jim Beam, supported by Coca Cola Zero, Air Asia, the Hard Rock Hotel, The Hard Rock Café, Heineken, and media sponsors FHM, TRAX, Men’s Fitness, Area, Juice, TV ONE, Rolling Stone, SurfTime, and Magic Wave

The Quiksilver Open and Roxy Open are sanctioned by the Coca-Cola Indonesian Surfing Championship Tour.