Rip Curl Pro Search Fogged In, Lay Day Called

BELGAS, Peniche/Portugal (Monday, October 26, 2009) – Both the Rip Curl Pro Search and the Rip Curl Women’s Pro Search have been called off today due heavy fog and lack of visibility.

Event No. 9 of 10 on the 2009 ASP World Tour, the Rip Curl Pro Search has completed the opening two rounds of competition, and was prepared to begin Round 3 this morning before being called off due to fog. Event No. 4 of 7 on the 2009 ASP Women’s World Tour, the Rip Curl Women’s Pro Search began its waiting period today, but suffered the same fate at the ASP Top 45.

“It’s been very frustrating for us today,” Damien Hardman, Rip Curl Pro Search Contest Director, said. “The waves this morning were a bit tough and then they improved and the sun came out. We got ready to go and the fog came back in. What we don’t want to do is start the round and have to call it because of lack of visibility so we’re off for the day. Next call is 8am tomorrow at Supertubes.”

When men’s competition resumes, up first will be former ASP World Champion (2007), C.J. Hobgood (USA), 30, battling Jordy Smith (ZAF), 21, in Heat 1 of Round 3.

Surfline, official forecasters for the 2009 Rip Curl Pro Search, are calling surf to maintain throughout the day before a solid

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow at 8am tomorrow morning at Supertubes.

Highlights from past days’ Rip Curl Pro Search are available via

Rip Curl Pro Search online media center is available at

The Rip Curl Pro Search is partnered regionally by RTP, Eurosport, Fuel TV and ESPN Brazil, who will all be broadcasting live from Peniche throughout the event. For more information on these live television broadcasts, please visit

For more information, log onto

Heat 1: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Jordy Smith (ZAF)
Heat 2: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs. Bede Durbidge (AUS)
Heat 3: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs. Drew Courtney (AUS)
Heat 4: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. Joel Parkinson (AUS)
Heat 5: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Dane Reynolds (USA)
Heat 6: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Damien Hobgood (USA)
Heat 7: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Fredrick Patacchia (HAW)
Heat 8: Adriano de Souza (BRA) vs. Tim Reyes (USA)

Heat 1: Rebecca Woods (AUS), Jacqueline Silva (BRA), Bruna Schmitz (BRA)
Heat 2: Melanie Bartels (HAW), Samantha Cornish (AUS), Alana Blanchard (HAW)
Heat 3: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Amee Donohoe (AUS), Pauline Ado (FRA)
Heat 4: Silvana Lima (BRA), Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Megan Abubo (HAW)
Heat 5: Sofia Mulanovich (PER), Chelsea Hedges (AUS), Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS)
Heat 6: Paige Hareb (NZL), Coco Ho (HAW), Rosanne Hodge (ZAF)