HONOLULU – (Sept. 14, 2011) — The Vans Triple Crown of Surfing, presented by Rockstar Energy Drink, is pleased to announce its upcoming winter surf season in Hawaii that will be the final stop of the 2011 Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Tour, crowning this year’s men’s world surfing champion.

The Series will run from November 12 through December 20, on the North Shore of Oahu, and will offer a total prize purse of $830,000. The Vans Triple Crown of Surfing is the most prestigious surfing series in the world, featuring the top rated surfers in some of the largest waves on the planet.

John John Florence will feature in this year's Vans Triple Crown as part of the newly announced ASP Top 34. Photo: Cestari.

Events of the 29th annual Vans Triple Crown of Surfing are:

The Reef Hawaiian Pro, Nov.12-23
Haleiwa Ali’i Beach Park
6-star rated event that offers Prime ratings points
Prize purse: $145,000

The Vans World Cup of Surfing, Nov.24-Dec.6
Sunset Beach
Prime rating & points
Prize purse: $250,000 (upgraded from 2010)

The Billabong Pipe Masters, Dec. 8-20
Banzai Pipeline
World Tour rating & points
Prize purse: $425,000

The Series also offers a $10,000 bonus purse for the Vans Triple Crown champion: The most consistent surfer across all three events.

While there is no women’s series this year, Hawaii’s newly crowned ASP women’s world champion Carissa Moore will be the only woman to line up against the world class field of more than 200 male athletes. Moore, 19, has been granted the ASP Hawaii wildcard into both the Reef Hawaiian Pro and the Vans World Cup.

Despite being one of the youngest competitors in the field, Moore has been competing in the Vans Triple Crown since the tender age of 12 and has registered women’s event victories at Haleiwa and Sunset Beach. Her performances in extra large surf at Sunset Beach over the past two years earmarked her as a worthy recipient of the wildcard. The 2011 ASP Women’s World Tour culminated in California last month.

“The heritage of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing is unsurpassed,” said Event Director Randy Rarick. “For close to three decades Hawaii has been the one destination on the ASP World Tour that reliably produces incredible surf and exceptional surfing. When you look through the annals of the Vans Triple Crown, you will find every surfing great and many of the most memorable moments of the sport recorded. The excitement is already building for 2011.”

In addition to the surfing events, the SURFER Poll Awards will take place at the Turtle Bay Resort on the evening of December 6, during the Vans Triple Crown period.

The Vans Triple Crown of Surfing is made possible by Vans, Reef, Billabong, Nixon, Skullcandy Supreme Sound, Hawaiian Airlines, Hawaii Tourism, GoPro, Turtle Bay Resort, State Farm, JN Automotive Group, Climb On Products, Clif Bar, Oceanic Time Warner Cable, Road Runner, Flo Water, Surfline.com, SURFING Magazine, and the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP).


Contact: Jodi Wilmott