World’s Best Female Surfers Score Pristine Bells for Rip Curl Pro Round 2

Photo: Courtesy of ASP

BELLS BEACH, Victoria/Australia (Thursday, April 21, 2011) - Round 2 of the Rip Curl Women's Pro Bells Beach presented by Ford Fiesta, the second stop on the 2011 ASP Women's World Title season, was completed this morning in firing three-to-five (1 - 1.5 metre) waves at Bells Beach and the world's best female surfers reveled in the pristine, offshore conditions.

Carissa Moore (HAW), 18, current ASP Women's World No. 1, bounced back from yesterday's Round 1 loss in spectacular fashion, scoring two nine-point rides earning the highest heat total of the event and sending the young Australian wildcard, Nikki Van-Dijk (AUS), 16, packing.

“That was so much fun!” Moore said. “Halfway through that heat Nikki (Van Dijk) and I were looking at each other thinking ‘are you serious, it’s just you and me surfing right now?’ In the mornings, we don’t really catch many waves because all the guys get the good ones, so it was nice to get some good conditions. I don’t really remember my waves too well, I just remember being psyched to surf and having this beautiful wall in front of me.”

Melanie Bartels (HAW), 28, veteran campaigner on the elite ASP Women's World Tour, was another to excel in this morning's fantastic conditions. Bartels managed to score two rare tube rides in her 30-minute duel with rookie Laura Enever (AUS), 19, to take out the win and advance through to Round 3.

“The past few days I’ve been coming here really early in the morning,” Bartels said. “Paddling out at the crack of dawn (which I don’t normally do) and sitting out there for hours and only catching one wave. So to have waves like that with only one other girl out was great. I’m so happy to be here and the waves are going off.”

Tyler Wright (AUS), 17, 2011 ASP Top 17 rookie and current No. 2 in the hunt for the 2011 ASP Women's World Title, put on an impressive performance, mixing power carves with stylish snaps to easily progress into Round 3.

“That’s the best I’ve ever surfed Bells!” Wright said. “It's really firing, the sets are going all the way through, it’s sick. When the waves are that good it’s hard to think about competing, I just wanted to catch waves. I’m not really thinking about ratings right now, I’m just doing my own thing and having fun.”

Other winners this morning included Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS), 24, Chelsea Hedges (AUS), 27, and Courtney Conlogue (USA), 18.

When women's competition resumes, up first will be Silvana Lima (BRA), 26, Chelsea Hedges (AUS), 27, and Melanie Bartels (HAW), 28, in the opening heat of Round 3.

While women's competition has completed for the day, the men have been relocated to nearby Winkipop for Round 2 of the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach presented by Ford Ranger.

Up first for the men will be 2010 ASP World Runner-Up Jordy Smith (ZAF), 23, up against Trials Winner Adam Robertson (AUS), 28, in the opening heat of Round 2.

The Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach presented by FORD will be webcast LIVE via and broadcast live on Fuel TV in Australia and ESPN in Brazil.

For more information, log onto

Heat 1: Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS) 11.83 def. Paige Hareb (NZL) 11.50
Heat 2: Melanie Bartels (HAW) 16.33 def. Laura Enever (AUS) 12.53
Heat 3: Carissa Moore (HAW) 18.23 def. Nikki Van Dijk (AUS) 10.90
Heat 4: Chelsea Hedges (AUS) 13.03 def. Bethany Hamilton (HAW) 4.83
Heat 5: Tyler Wright (AUS) 16.00 def. Alana Blanchard (HAW) 7.16
Heat 6: Courtney Conlogue (USA) 12.84 def. Rebecca Woods (AUS) 10.30

Heat 1: Silvana Lima (BRA), Chelsea Hedges (AUS), Melanie Bartels (HAW)
Heat 2: Carissa Moore (HAW), Sofia Mulanovich (PER), Courtney Conlogue (USA)
Heat 3: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Tyler Wright (AUS), Pauline Ado (FRA)
Heat 4: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Coco Ho (HAW), Jessi Miley-Dyer (AUS)

Heat 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. Adam Robertson (AUS)
Heat 2: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Gabriel Medina (BRA)
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Bobby Martinez (USA)
Heat 4: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Josh Kerr (AUS)
Heat 5: Damien Hobgood (USA) vs. Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 6: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Cory Lopez (USA)
Heat 7: Brett Simpson (USA) vs. Gabe Kling (USA)
Heat 8: Jadson Andre (BRA) vs. Daniel Ross (AUS)
Heat 9: Chris Davidson (AUS) vs. Julian Wilson (AUS)
Heat 10: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Kai Otton (AUS)
Heat 11: Kieren Perrow (AUS) vs. Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 12: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. Tiago Pires (PRT)