2017 Margaret River Champion John John Florence

Margaret River has long been the event that seems to be on the chopping block when it comes to trimming an event from the tour. Ironically, it’s one of the most consistent events swell-wise on tour and one of the most innovative when it comes to utilizing alternate wave venues. We’ve seen heats run at The Box, Main Beach and even last year at North Point. All of these locations are good options, but Main Break offers the most consistent of the three in terms of seeing enough high-scoring waves in a heat.

Will we see Margaret River’s neck on the chopping block after this year as well? Without an event sponsor, (aside from the West Oz government) we very well could. But it certainly won’t be for lack of waves or excitement.

Some stats from the last few years in West Australia:

-In the four years that Margaret River has been on tour, nobody has shown quite the consistency as John John Florence. He’s made the final twice and won last year (2017).

-All four former men’s winners are competing in this year’s event. John John Florence (2017), Sebastian Zietz (2016), Adriano DeSouza (2015), and Michel Bourez (2014).

-This is one of the few locations the Championship Tour visits that Kelly Slater has never won. Bali being the only other location on the 2018 Championship Tour that he has never claimed victory. And that won’t change in 2018 as Slater has withdrawn due to injury.

-On the women’s side, Courtney Conlogue and Carissa Moore are almost equally dominant at this event. Each has made the final three of the last four years. Carissa has made it to at least the quarterfinals for the last four years. While Courtney has won the event twice.

-Despite the event’s adaptability and willingness to relocate venues, it has finished up at Main Break every year.

-Competition has been halted several times in the past few years due to shark sightings.

And now the facts:

WHO: The Men’s WSL Top 34 + 2 wildcards, and the Women’s WSL Top 17 + 1 wildcard.

WHAT: Event No.3 of the Men’s & Women’s 2018 WSL Championship Tour

WHEN: April 11-22, 2018

WHERE: Margaret River, Western Australia (with potential to re-locate to North Point or The Box)

TIME ZONE: Margaret River, Western Australia is 12 hours ahead of the US East Coast and 15 hours ahead of the US West Coast. This means that 7:00am Wednesday, April 11th in Margaret River is:
7:00pm Tuesday, April 10th in New York
4:00pm Tuesday, April 10th in Los Angeles

If you’re not in any of those time zones and want to know the difference in time from Margaret River to your area, we recommend visiting TimeAndDate.com.

INJURIES / REPLACEMENTS / WILDCARDS: As of today, (April 11 AUS, April 10 USA) Kelly Slater (foot) and Jeremy Flores (Birth of child) have withdrawn from the Men’s event. Slater has been replaced by Miguel Pupo. Flores has been replaced by trials runner-up Kael Walsh. Mikey Wright has been given a commissioner’s wildcard from the WSL. Local David Delroy-Carr earned a spot into the main event as the Trials winner.

On the women's side, Courtney Conlogue has withdrawn from her third event in a row with her ongoing foot injury. She has been replaced in the draw by Macy Callaghan. The wildcard is local trials winner Mikaela Greene.

2018 Men’s Margaret River Pro Heat Draw:

Upcoming Round 1 Heats:
Heat 1: Matt Wilkinson, Connor O'Leary, Keanu Asing
Heat 2: Jordy Smith, Tomas Hermes, Ian Gouveia
Heat 3: Owen Wright, Caio Ibelli, Miguel Pupo
Heat 4: John John Florence, Wade Carmichael, Mikey Wright
Heat 5: Gabriel Medina, Joan Duru, Kael Walsh
Heat 6: Julian Wilson, Jesse Mendes, David Delroy-Carr
Heat 7: Filipe Toledo, Conner Coffin, Michael February
Heat 8: Adriano DeSouza, Kanoa Igarashi, Yago Dora
Heat 9: Adrian Buchan, Griffin Colapinto, Willian Cardoso
Heat 10: Italo Ferreira, Sebastian Zietz, Michael Rodrigues
Heat 11: Kolohe Andino, Frederico Morais, Ezekiel Lau
Heat 12: Joel Parkinson, Michel Bourez, Pat Gudauskas

2018 Women’s Margaret River Pro Heat Draw:

Upcoming Round 1 Heats:
Heat 1: Sally Fitzgibbons, Silvana Lima, Coco Ho
Heat 2: Carissa Moore, Sage Erickson, Bronte Macauley
Heat 3: Stephanie Gilmore, Keely Andrew, Mikeala Greene
Heat 4: Lakey Peterson, Caroline Marks, Paige Hareb
Heat 5: Tyler Wright, Tatiana Weston-Webb, Macy Callaghan
Heat 6: Johanne Defay, Nikki Van Dijk, Malia Manuel

Log in and trade your teams NOW for the 2018 Margaret River Pro on FantasySurfer.com.