With Jordy Smith’s stumble at the recently completed Quik Pro France, the results of the 2017 Meo Rip Curl Pro will be incredibly important to this year’s title race. While it’s unlikely that we’ll see a World Champion crowned at this event as we did in 2016, the outcome will set the stage for the world title finale at the Pipe Masters. John John Florence has a slim lead over Smith, and Gabriel Medina is quickly catching up with them both after winning in France. Will Florence, Smith, or Medina dominate in Portugal and set themselves up in the driver’s seat for Pipe? We’ll have to wait and see.

Here are the facts:

WHO: The WSL Men’s Top 34 + 2 wildcards

WHAT: Stop #10 of the Men’s 2017 WSL Championship Tour

WHEN: October 20-31, 2017

WHERE: Peniche, Portugal

TIME ZONE: Peniche, Portugal is in the GMT+1 time zone

This means that 8am, October 20th, in Peniche is:
4pm, October 20th, in Tokyo
5pm, October 20th, in Sydney
8am, October 20th, in United Kingdom
3am, October 20th, in New York
12am, October 20th, in Los Angeles
9pm, October 19th, in Honolulu

Plan accordingly. If your time zone equivalent is not listed above, we recommend visiting www.TimeAndDate.com to see yours.


WILDCARDS / INJURIES / INJURY REPLACEMENTS: (Updated October 17th, 2017) Currently, there is only one surfer confirmed out of the event and that is Kelly Slater. He has been replaced in the draw by Nat Young. Wildcards are Vasco Ribeiro and Mason Ho.

EVENT WEBSITE: Tune into the WSL’s event live at WorldSurfLeague.com

Heat 1: Julian Wilson, Caio Ibelli, Leo Fioravanti
Heat 2: Matt Wilkinson, Bede Durbidge, Stu Kennedy
Heat 3: Owen Wright, Conner Coffin, Ethan Ewing
Heat 4: Gabriel Medina, Wiggolly Dantas, Josh Kerr
Heat 5: Jordy Smith, Italo Ferreira, Vasco Ribeiro
Heat 6: John John Florence, Kanoa Igarashi, Mason Ho
Heat 7: Adriano DeSouza, Jeremy Flores, Jack Freestone
Heat 8: Filipe Toledo, Michel Bourez, Jadson Andre
Heat 9: Joel Parkinson, Joan Duru, Nat Young
Heat 10: Kolohe Andino, Connor O’Leary, Miguel Pupo
Heat 11: Sebastian Zietz, Adrian Buchan, Ezekiel Lau
Heat 12: Mick Fanning, Frederico, Ian Gouveia

[Trade your teams for the Meo Rip Curl Pro NOW at FantasySurfer.com]