Happy Endings Steals Jim Beam U.S. Surftag Event

SURFER’S POINT, VENTURA, CA September 26, 2009 – The Jim Beam Surftag U.S. Series 2nd Round was a definite nail biter from start to finish. In every heat, each team’s destiny would be determined by finishing first and grabbing bonus points.

Sean Hayes of Ventura’s Purp’s Posse carries his team to the final heat and escapes defeat in the semi finals by one point to beat team J7 (Manhattan Beach’s 4th Place Winner). J7 failed to catch their last wave and Purp’s Posse capitalized on returning to the beach first; grabbing their 4 bonus points. Wave choice and aggressive surfing played a huge factor in the 2nd Round.

The final heat was sluggish and flat as there were no sets pumping in. However, Nick Rosza and Chris Waring delivered huge scores to give the Reef team a small lead going into the last leg of the heat.

“There’s less pressure in this event and I love the team format…I think it helps you surf better!” – Nick Rosza (Reef)

In the last two minutes of the final heat, the sets started to roll in and a fight to the finish erupted. Every team was frantic to grab their last three waves and ride into shore. Yves Bright came up big at the end for Happy Endings and they stole the win from the Reef team by 1.4 points.

Happy Endings is the team to beat as the Jim Beam Surftag U.S. Series rides into its 3rd and final qualifying round in Oceanside, CA on October 11, 2009.
“I love it…I hope the Jim Beam Surftag Series continues and builds recognition in the U.S.!” – Noah Erickson (Happy Endings)
Final Heat Results (2st Qualifying Event) Surfer’s Point, Ventura:
1st PLACE – Happy Endings
Total Points77.5 – Pascal Stansfield 19.5pts; Danny Estes 17.5pts; Macy Mullen 16pts; Noah Erickson 14.5pts; Yves Bright 10pts
2nd PLACE – Reef
Total Points 76.1 – Chad Abad 16pts; Nick Rosza 21.6pts; Chris Waring 21pts; Sean Marceron 14.5; Scott Hammonds 3pts.
3rd PLACE – Purp’s Posse
Total Points 68.5 – Sean Hayes 17pts; Kai Ellison 12.5pts; Kyle Collins 11pts; Chad Compton 18pts; Tyler Anderson 6pts.
Total Points 66.6 – Hank Gaskel 16.8pts; Ricky Whitlock 12.3pts; Jamie Meistrell 17pts; Anthony Petruso 16.5 pts; Justin Swartz 4.

Registration for Oceanside Beach (3RD qualifying round) is still open to the public as spots are quickly filling up. Teams of 5 representing clubs or local breaks can sign-up on line at www.Jimbeamsurftag.com. There is no entry fee and one member can register for the entire team (must list all the team members during registration). All contestants must be 21-years-old on the day of competition.

A $5,000 prize purse will be offered at each of the first three events and $10,000 will be offered for the final contest. Up to 16 teams will participate in each event.

Please visit www.surfline.com/jimbeamsurftag for all the latest updates and news
The 2009 Jim Beam Surftag U.S. Series is proudly supported by FCS, Reef and Surfline