Vans USA, Cypress, CA (August 28, 2012) – The world's best longboard surfers and their uniquely progressive longboard surf style come to the epicenter of European surfing as the Joel Tudor Duct Tape Invitational presented by Vans heads to Cote des Basque in Biarritz, France September 28-30, 2012. Directed by two-time world longboard champion Joel Tudor, the event will require competitors to bring two boards: a traditional style longboard and a mid-length board (ranging from 7' to 8' 10") – each must be single fin and leashless boards – with contestants riding what the conditions demand. Expect to see amazing style and nose riding that harkens back to surfing's early years, but with progression that only today's most talented surfers can bring.

The 16-man contest spans a three-day holding period and will offer a $10,000 prize purse with top contenders including past winners Alex Knost and Tyler Warren of California, Floridian Justin Quintana and other standouts such as Californians Jared Mell and Ryan Burch and Australian Harrison Roach. New invitees to watch include English longboard champion James Parry and local French longboarder Clovis Donizetti of Biarritz.

Vans also debuts Get-N Classic, Vol. 2, the latest surf film chronicling the exploits of the Vans surf team, in Biarritz, specific details and invitations will be released soon.

Biarritz marks the sixth event in the Joel Tudor Duct Tape series, with each stop taking place at famous global surf spots. Quintal won the inaugural contest at the 2010 East Coast Surfing Championships in Virginia Beach, followed by another win in late fall waves at Montauk, New York's Ditch Plains. Three Duct Tape contests were held in 2011 with Knost winning at Steamer Lane in Santa Cruz, Warren capturing the title at the Salinas Longboard Festival in Spain and Knost again pacing the field at Surfrider Beach in Malibu later last year.

Contest Invitees Include:
Alex Knost, Robbie Kegel, Tyler Warren, Ryan Burch, James Parry, Chad Marshall, Justin Quintal, Harrison Roach, Lucas Dirkse, Jared Mell, Clovis Donizetti, JJ Wessels, Tanner Prairie, Andy Nieblas, Troy Elmore and another wildcard to be announced.

Photo: Vans

Photo: Vans

About Vans Surf
Vans supports and promotes surfing and surfers through a full line of footwear and apparel and events such as the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing, the ASP 4-Star Vans Pier Classic at Huntington Beach and the ASP 6-Star Vans Pro at the East Coast Surfing Championships and the progressive longboard Joel Tudor Duct Tape Invitational contests. The Vans Surf team is led by a talented group of riders including Nathan Fletcher, John Florence, Joel Tudor, Dane Reynolds, Pat, Dane and Tanner Gudauskas, Ivan and Nathan Florence, Alex Knost, Andrew Doheny, Dylan Graves, Kalani Chapman, Wade Goodall and Leila Hurst.

For more information on Vans' surf happenings, our team plus our footwear and apparel, visit and follow us on Twitter @vanssurf.