Surfing Walk of Fame Induction 2012

Seven New Surfers Inducted to Surfing Walk of Fame in Huntington Beach

Who: Michael Peterson (Surf Pioneer), Dick Brewer (Surf Pioneer), Michael Ho (Surf Champion), Sean Collins (Surf Culture), Alisa Schwarzstein-Cairns (Women of the Year), George Draper (Local Hero) and Stacy Wood (Honor Roll).

What: The annual induction ceremony of the Surfing Walk of Fame, where seven new legends of the sport will be forever enshrined on the streets in Surf City USA.

Why: "Going back more than 19 years ago, our International Surfing Museum in Huntington Beach tried to get a Walk of Fame going. There was no money and too many people who wanted to put their ideas in to how to do this. Well, nothing happen. Then about 18 years ago, a small group of six, not all hardcore surfers like myself, and Mike Abdelmuti (our benefactor) of Jack’s got together and hatched a nonprofit group with some strict bylaws. The main thing is that we wanted to have a ballot that is mailed out to the surfing industry rather than a small group of people deciding each year who were going to put in the Walk of Fame. We mailed out over 200 ballots, like the major sports groups do. We set standards for each of five categories, Surf Pioneer, Surf Champion, Woman of the Year, Surf Culture, Local Hero, and our Honor Roll." - Don MacAllister, SWOF Director and Founding Member

When: August 2nd, 2012, 10:00am

Where: Corner of Main Street and PCH in front of Jack's Surfboards in Huntington Beach, California.

We hope to see you there. Let me know if you have any special photo or interview requests and I can coordinate.


Mike Cianciulli
PR, Surfing Walk of Fame
Cell: 805-704-1484