The Yumeya presents Oxbow WLT at Tahara is LIVE

TAHARA, Japan (Wednesday, July 29, 2009) – The Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) World Longboard Tour (WLT) has kicked off the opening event of the year, the Yumeya presents Oxbow WLT at Tahara, after waiting throughout the morning for conditions to improve. The dropping tide and slowing wind have brought contestable two-foot (1 metre) surf to the backup site of Long Beach and event officials have decided to begin Round 1 while expecting the swell to increase throughout the evening.

“After spending the morning on hold we’ve decided to get Round 1 underway,” ASP WLT Manager Al Hunt said. “We’re expecting some swell to fill in throughout the evening in to tomorrow, and think it’s best to get through some heats today after looking at the forecast.”

The Yumeya presents Oxbow WLT at Tahara is the first of two events on the ASP WLT on the 2009 schedule, with the second ASP WLT event, also sponsored by Oxbow, scheduled in the Maldives at Pasta Point in October. The two-event series will crown the undisputed ASP World Longboarding Champion at year’s end.

The season opener will see defending ASP World Longboard Champion Bonga Perkins (HAW), 36, 2007 ASP World Longboard Champion Phil Rajzman (BRA), 27, American standout Taylor Jensen (USA), 25, last year’s ASP WLT No. 2 Antoine Delpero (FRA), 24, and Australian title hopeful Harley Ingleby (AUS), 25, look to kick their title hopes off on the right foot in today’s competition.

The Yumeya presents Oxbow WLT at Tahara has a waiting period from July 28 through August 2, 2009 and will be webcast LIVE via

For additional ASP information check out

Upcoming Yumeya presents Oxbow WLT at Tahara Round 1 Heats:
Heat 1: Eduardo Bage (BRA) vs. Dane Pioli (AUS)
Heat 2: Amaro Matos (BRA) vs. Jeremias da Silva (BRA)
Heat 3: Duane de Soto (HAW) vs. Kai Sallas (HAW)
Heat 4: Matthew Moir (ZAF) vs. Remi Arauzo (FRA)
Heat 5: Ned Snow (HAW) vs. David Kinoshita (JPN)
Heat 6 :Alex Salazar (BRA) vs. Keegan Edwards (HAW)
Heat 7: Jared Neal (AUS) vs. Josh Constable (AUS)
Heat 8: Bonga Perkins (HAW) vs. Taiki Mori (USA)
Heat 9: Antione Delpero (FRA) vs. Nobuhiru Ogashira (JPN)
Heat 10: Carlos Bahia (BRA) vs. Ben Skinner (GBR)
Heat 11: Phil Rajzman (BRA) vs. Noah Shimabukuro (HAW)
Heat 12: Taylor Jensen (USA) vs. Eugine Neal (JPN)
Heat 13: Harley Ingleby (AUS) vs. Dylan Macleod (ZAF)
Heat 14: Bryce Young (AUS) vs. Sam Bleakley (GBR)
Heat 15: Colin McPhillips (USA) vs. Tony Silvagni (USA)
Heat 16: Romain Maurin (FRA) vs. Alexis Deniel (FRA)