2012 Surfer Poll Nominees

Announcing the best films and performances of the year

Reef McIntosh, Best Barrel and Heavy Water Nominee for the 2012 SURFER Poll Awards. Photo: Glaser

The Biggest Night in Surfing is just over two weeks away. On December 6, we’ll not only announce the Top 10 Men and Top 5 Women, as chosen by you, but we’ll also award the best films and performances of the year. Below are the nominees for Best Barrel, Worst Wipeout, Heavy Water, Best Short (for films under 20 minutes), Best Performance, and Movie of the Year. Tune in to Surferpoll.com on the evening of December 6 to watch the show live.

Best Barrel
Ian Walsh, Fiji Freight Trains
Reef McIntosh, Fiji Freight Trains
Clay Marzo, Let’s Surf Seriously
John John Florence, Dear Suburbia
Shane Dorian, Seared Peahi
Dave Wassel, Fiji Freight Trains

Worst Wipeout
Mark Mathews, Fighting Fear
Bradley Norris, Immersion
James McKean, Immersion
Issac Stant, Seared Peahi
Matt Meola, Seared Peahi

Heavy Water
Mark Healey
Shane Dorian
Greg Long
Ian Walsh
Reef McIntosh
Mark Mathews

Best Short (Click here to watch them all.)
Seared Peahi
Electric Blue Heaven
Fiji Freight Trains
Ward Stories, Barbados Episode

Best Performance
John John Florence, Get-N Classic Volume 2
Dane Reynolds, Dear Suburbia
Mason Ho, Elementary
Jordy Smith, Bending Colours
Jack Freestone, Daze at Sea
Chippa Wilson, Let's Surf Seriously

Movie of the Year (Click here to watch all the trailers.)
Surf Madness
Bending Colours
Get-N Classic Volume 2
Dear Suburbia
This Time Tomorrow
Fighting Fear