Billabong Pro Tahiti: Day Two

Nine surfers sent packing

Another day of solid surf at the Billabong Pro Tahiti and with elimination on the line, the drama was kicked up a notch, despite slightly less heavy conditions as Day 1. Contest organizers were able to get nine heats in the can, meaning nine surfers were sent packing.

Quite a few top seeds fell, including Jordy Smith and Julian Wilson. In a controversial finish, Aritz Aranburu advanced over Fred Patacchia. As time wound down in their heat, a solid set came through allowing what was ultimately the last exchange of their matchup. Patacchia earned the better of the exchange but an early 9.23 by Aranburu kept him ahead. A visibly upset Pataccia thought, along with many web viewers, that he deserved the heat win.

In the following heat, C.J. Hobgood was given a direct advance to Round 3 due to Travis Logie withdrawing from the event. During the first day of competition, Logie’s foot slammed into the reef, leaving him unable to continue on to his Round 2 heat.

To close out the day, Sebastian Zietz dropped an incredible 9.97, which alone was enough to advance over his opponent Alejo Muniz’ 2.00 heat score. He did, however, back it up with a 5.83 for a 15.80 heat score.

Billabong Pro Tahiti Round 2 Results
Heat 1: Joel Parkinson (AUS) 17.17 def. Taumata Puhetini (PFY) 12.50
Heat 2: Nathan Hedge (AUS) 12.00 def. Adriano De Souza (BRA) 11.77
Heat 3: Josh Kerr (AUS) 17.90 def. Mitch Coleborn (AUS) 11.24
Heat 4: Brett Simpson (USA) 11.50 def. Jordy Smith (ZAF) 5.33
Heat 5: John John Florence (HAW) 11.00 def. Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 2.43
Heat 6: Bede Durbidge (AUS) 6.33 def. Glenn Hall (IRL) 2.93
Heat 7: Tiago Pires (PRT) 7.77 def. Julian Wilson (AUS) 7.60
Heat 8: Aritz Aranburu (ESP) 17.46 def. Fredrick Patacchia Jr. (HAW) 17.04
Heat 9: C.J. Hobgood (USA) direct advance to Round 3, Travis Logie (ZAF) withdrawn following injury
Heat 10: Mitch Crews (AUS) 10.17 def. Miguel Pupo (BRA) 8.60
Heat 11: Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 15.80 def. Alejo Muniz (BRA) 2.00