Billabong Pro Tahiti: Day One

Massive swell serves up huge scores and massive wipeouts

It’s what we’ve all been waiting for. After a string of lay days, the Billabong Pro Tahiti ran 14 heats at massive Teahupoo. In the first heat of the day, Kelly Slater dropped a 9.40 (see below), which set the pace for the rest of the day. The swell continued to build as the wind picked up and the tide drained out later in the day, creating the heaviest waves we’ve seen in competition in some time. After completing all of the non-elimination Round 1, the ASP’s Kieren Perrow opted to run two Round 2 heats, where we saw Joel Parkinson bounce back from a count-back loss to Ace Buchan in Round 1 (both surfers scored 16.30 but Ace had a 9.97 compared to Joel’s 9.80), and wildcard Nathan Hedge took out high-seed Adriano de Souza with the only Perfect 10 of the day (see below). Tahitian Taumata Puhetini suffered a horrific wipeout during his loss to Parkinson that left him unable to finish the heat. Puhetini suffered a massive whiplash but is in stable condition.

Billabong Pro Tahiti Round 1 Results
Heat 1: Kelly Slater (USA) 16.40, Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 10.34, Glenn Hall (IRL) 4.53
Heat 2: Michel Bourez (PYF) 9.66, Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 7.63, Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 7.17
Heat 3: Taj Burrow (AUS) 12.50, Brett Simpson (USA) 9.17, Adam Melling (AUS) 5.07
Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS) 18.16, Mitch Coleborn (AUS) 8,47, Alejo Muniz (BRA) 8.10
Heat 5: Adrian Buchan (AUS) 16.30, Joel Parkinson (AUS) 16.30, Nathan Hedge (AUS) 15.77
Heat 6: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 14.33, Tuamata Puhetini (PYF) 12.17, Mitch Crews (AUS) 9.43
Heat 7: Dion Atkinson 15.33 (AUS), Adriano De Souza 13.10 (BRA), Miguel Pupo 10.94 (BRA)
Heat 8: Nat Young (USA) 16.50, C.J. Hobgood (USA) 8.27, Tiago Pires (PRT) 8.26
Heat 9: Kolohe Andino (USA) 13.76, Aritz Aranburu (ESP) 11.44, Freddy Patacchia Jr. (HAW) 10.74
Heat 10: Jadson Andre (BRA) 16.64, Julian Wilson (AUS) 15.94, Josh Kerr (AUS) 7.93
Heat 11: Owen Wright (AUS) 6.34, Bede Durbidge (AUS) 5.43, Travis Logie (ZAF) 3.10
Heat 12: Kai Otton (AUS) 18.24, John John Florence (HAW) 15.83, Jordy Smith (ZAF) 8.73

Billabong Pro Tahiti Round 2 Results
Heat 1: Joel Parkinson (AUS) 17.17 def. Taumata Puhetini (PFY) 12.50
Heat 2: Nathan Hedge (AUS) 12.00 vs. Adriano De Souza (BRA) 11.77

Watch: Slater’s 9.40

Watch: Ace Buchan’s 9.97

Watch: Nathan Hedge’s Perfect 10

Watch: C.J. Hobgood Sucked Over The Falls

Watch: Tahitian Wildcard Tuamata Puhetini’s Massive Whiplash