JACKSONVILLE, FL.,- The Poles at Jacksonville hosted the 2002 O’Neill Grom Prix. Fun waves, sunny skies, and a Memorial weekend crowd all made for a successful event. “The Jax area has a huge pool of talent that showed up in force for the Grom Prix,” said Paul Reinecke, Florida team manager for O’Neill.

“The glassy 2-3ft. waves made for great conditions for the kids to surf,” said Reinecke.

Local boy Cody Thompson took down the 13 and under pack with his constant lashing of waves. He was the definite pick to win from the very first heat.

The 14-16 division was stacked to the brim as well. With the pressure on in the final, Brady Mckenzie of Fernandina Beach put on a show for the spectators and solidly won the top prize.

“I don’t think it was any thing but the norm for Brady,” said Reinecke.

The results of the Grom Prix:


  • 1: Cody Thompson
  • 2: Evan Thompson
  • 3: Corey Harper
  • 4: Geoff Lambert
  • 5: Blake Macklin
  • 6: Trey Thompson


  • 1: Brady McKenzie
  • 2: Leon McGovern
  • 3: Eric Rheaum
  • 4: Johnny Barclay
  • 5:Evan Thompson
  • 6: Corey Harper

Best wave went to Eric Rheaum.

“Thanks go out to all who were involved and helped make this event happen (Smith, Ocean Minded, x-trak, and Surfnews). We are all looking forward to the 2nd annual Grom Prix next year,” said Reinecke.

SANTA CRUZ GROM PRIX SURF SERIES–click “next page” now!