It's nearly time to clear The Lane again for the 2014 Coldwater Classic. Photo: Prefontaine

It’s nearly time to clear The Lane again for the 2014 Coldwater Classic. Photo: Prefontaine

The Coldwater Classic at Steamer Lane has gone through many variations, from Prime to World Tour stop to last year’s inaugural “winner takes home a sponsor” event. In 2013, Torrey Meister took top honors, and we’ve seen him since travel the world, well on the radar, sacking webclips everywhere he went. As the 2014 contest’s waiting period opens today, there are 16 surfers sitting in Santa Cruz wanting a piece of that O’Neill pie. It looks like it’ll run Wednesday and Thursday at the Lane, with waves apparently on the way. May the best man win…then buy the other 15 some drinks. Watch the webcast live at

Here, the full release:

Event organizers have called the 2014 O'Neill Coldwater Classic ON for Wednesday (10/29) and Thursday (10/30) based on forecast predictions. With a possible fun West Northwest swell and small, underlying Southwest swell, Surfline has determined Wed. and Thurs. will have the largest waves and most promising conditions to run the event. Favorable local wind also looks likely at this time.

The largest surf currently on the radar during the event waiting period (Sept. 28 to Oct. 1) is for Wed. and Thurs. This swell is forecast to be spawned by Tropical Storm Ana, which is currently located about 1000 miles West-Northwest of Hawaii and should transition into an extratropical storm over the weekend and it tracks toward the US West Coast. Although not expected to be a major swell from Ana, it should provide fun and very contestable waves building into the head highish range on Wed. before fading through the day on Thurs.

The ASP Specialty Event will bring 16 unsponsored surfers together for the chance of a lifetime opportunity at a winner-take-all grand prize yearlong sponsorship from O'Neill Wetsuits. The sponsorship includes travel incentives and contest fees (valued at $50,000) to give the winner the opportunity to chase their World Championship Tour (WCT) dreams.

The Field:
Jeison Torres Abarca (Jaco, PU, CRI) – wildcard winner
Leif Engstrom (Montauk, NY)
Jack Boyes (Huntington Beach, CA)
Shaun Burns (Santa Cruz, CA)
Wade Carmichael (Gosford, NSW, AUS)
Nathanial Curren (Oxnard, CA)
Tanner Hendrickson (Paia, Maui, HI)
Stu Kennedy (Lennox Head, NSW, AUS)
Clay Marzo (Lahaina, Maui, HI)
Quinn McCrystal (Huntington Beach, CA)
Johnny Noris (La Jolla, CA)
Garrett Parkes (Byron Bay, NSW, AUS)
Lincoln Taylor (North Stradbroke Island, QLD, AUS)
Austin Ware (Solana Beach, CA)
Chris Waring (Seal Beach, CA)
Nathan Yeomans (San Clemente, CA)

Watch the live broadcast and follow all of the action at