Industry News March 1


Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast pres. by LG
Stop No. 1 of 11 on the 2008 ASP World Tour
Snapper Rocks, Coolangatta, Australia
February 23 – March 5, 2008

9:45am Start for Round 3 of the Quiksilver Pro at Snapper Rocks

COOLANGATTA, Australia (Sunday, Mar. 2, 2008) – ASP World Tour surfers who won their Round 1 heats have had over a week to prepare for the Round 3 Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast pres. by LG duels they will embark on today.

Bede Durbidge (AUS), last year’s event runner-up, commanded his Round 1 heat last Saturday to avoid Round 2 which ran on Wednesday. He will meet returning Top 45 surfer Kieren Perrow (AUS) in the first heat of Round 3 commencing at 9:45am today.

Reigning ASP and Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast champion Mick Fanning (AUS) will meet wildcard Julian Wilson (AUS) in Heat 8. Wilson eliminated Hawaii’s Pancho Sullivan in Round 2.

The Quiksilver Pro pres. by LG will be webcast LIVE on

For more information, including athlete quotes and complimentary images, visit the Press Room on

Quiksilver Pro Gold Coast pres. by LG Round 3 Match-Ups:
Heat 1: Bede Durbidge (AUS) vs. Kieren Perrow (AUS)
Heat 2: Tom Whitaker (AUS) vs. Ben Dunn (AUS)
Heat 3: Taylor Knox (USA) vs. Dayyan Neve (AUS)
Heat 4: Joel Parkinson (AUS) vs. Roy Powers (HAW)
Heat 5: Dean Morrison (AUS) vs. Dane Reynolds (AUS)
Heat 6: Bobby Martinez (USA) vs. Jordy Smith (ZAF)
Heat 7: Neco Padaratz (BRA) vs. Leonardo Neves (BRA)
Heat 8: Mick Fanning (AUS) vs. Julian Wilson (AUS)
Heat 9: Taj Burrow (AUS) vs. Mikael Picon (FRA)
Heat 10: Adrian Buchan (AUS) vs. Bruce Irons (HAW)
Heat 11: Jeremy Flores (AUS) vs. Jay Thompson (AUS)
Heat 12: C.J. Hobgood (USA) vs. Tim Reyes (USA)
Heat 13: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Heitor Alves (BRA)
Heat 14: Luke Stedman (AUS) vs. Adriano de Souza (BRA)
Heat 15: Andy Irons (HAW) vs. Ben Bourgeois (USA)
Heat 16: Kai Otton (AUS) vs. Luke Munro (AUS)