In pumping 5-to-7 foot Supertubes, the world’s best welcomed the J-Bay Open back to the World Tour. And what a welcome it was. Despite devil winds during the early heats, top seeds Mick Fanning and Taj Burrow dominated before goofyfooter Kai Otton served former event winner Joel Parkinson an upset with his 17.24 heat total. From there, conditions appeared to clean up allowing for more barrels and hacks. To the surprise of none, South African Jordy Smith stole the show, posting the highest heat score of the day, a 19.80, which included a perfect 10 (video below). Following the completion of the non-elimination Round One, the first four heats of Round Two ran with top seeds coming out on top in all of them, including Jeffreys Bay newbie and world title contender Gabriel Medina. The forecast calls for diminishing swell over the next few days so we could see contest organizers attempt to resume heats before conditions become incontestable, but we’ll more likely see a string of lay days.

J-Bay Open Round One Results
Heat 1: Mick Fanning (AUS) 15.00, Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 12.77, Dion Atkinson (AUS) 10.80
Heat 2: Taj Burrow (AUS) 15.34, Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) 12.04, Matt Wilkinson (AUS) 10.67
Heat 3: Kai Otton (AUS) 17.24, Joel Parkinson (AUS) 16.60, Glenn Hall (IRL) 9.46
Heat 4: Michel Bourez (PYF) 12.90, Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 11.77, Adrian Buchan (AUS) 11.33
Heat 5: Adam Melling (AUS) 13.10, Gabriel Medina (BRA) 11.50, Brett Simpson (USA) 8.50
Heat 6: Kelly Slater (USA) 14.00, Dylan Lightfoot (ZAF) 11.67, Mitch Crews (AUS) 9.10
Heat 7: Aritz Aranburu (ESP) 15.86, Miguel Pupo (BRA) 9.54, Nat Young (USA) 9.10
Heat 8: Adriano de Souza (BRA) 14.27, Alejo Muniz (BRA) 9.56, C.J. Hobgood (USA) 8.30
Heat 9: Josh Kerr (AUS) 16.33, Tiago Pires (PRT) 14.67, Filipe Toledo (BRA) 11.10
Heat 10: Jordy Smith (ZAF) 19.80, Owen Wright (AUS) 17.03, Jadson Andre (BRA) 11.67
Heat 11: John John Florence (HAW) 13.74, Bede Durbidge (AUS) 11.33, Jeremy Flores (FRA) 6.33
Heat 12: Kolohe Andino (USA) 14.00, Julian Wilson (AUS) 13.53, Travis Logie (ZAF) 10.64

J-Bay Open Round Two Results
Heat 1: Gabriel Medina (BRA) 14.90 def. Dylan Lightfoot (ZAF) 11.27
Heat 2: Joel Parkinson (AUS) 12.43 def. Brett Simpson (USA) 10.43
Heat 3: Nat Young (USA) 16.10 def. Raoni Monteiro (BRA) 8.63
Heat 4: Julian Wilson (AUS) 15.33 def. Glenn Hall (IRL) 4.80

Watch Jordy Smith’s Perfect 10