Mavs is a Go

On Friday, the 2014 Mavericks Invitational will run in waves of serious consequence

Greg Long, from last year's Mavericks Invitational, will surely be a contender in 2014. Photo: Ellis

Greg Long, from last year’s Mavericks Invitational. Long will surely be a contender in 2014. Photo: Ellis

Contest organizers for The Body Glove Mavericks Invitational Presented By GoPro® have confirmed that the world's premier big wave surf contest will take place this Friday, January 24, 2014 at Pillar Point in Half Moon Bay. With a massive swell forecast for waves upwards of 40 feet, the world's best big-wave surfers will be putting on a death-defying show for the live stream and for those in attendance Friday at 8 a.m.

"Changes in the offshore weather prompted a postponement until today for the official announcement," said contest director Jeff Clark. "There was concern for a south wind and giant swell, which could have posed danger not only for competitors but for all boats out in the water.”

With a peaking WNW swell arriving early on the 24th, and the veering south winds, Friday morning in Half Moon Bay is the call. The draw is set for the field of 24, each heat stacked with a combo of local California chargers and international big-wave surfers. The competitors have been given their 24-hour notice that the contest is on, and will begin arranging travel from Brazil, Hawaii, Southern California, and South Africa.

Find more information about the contest at the Mavericks Invitational website.

Standby for more coverage here at

The heat draw for the 2014 Mavericks Invitational.

The heat draw for the 2014 Mavericks Invitational.

Here’s the full list of invitees for Friday:

Ryan Augenstein (Santa Cruz, CA)
Grant Baker (South Africa)
Chris Bertish (South Africa)
Carlos Burle (Brazil)
Kohl Christensen (Hawaii)
Ken Collins (Santa Cruz, CA)
Shawn Dollar (Santa Cruz, CA)
Shane Dorian (Hawaii)
Colin Dwyer (Pacifica, CA)
Nathan Fletcher (San Clemente, CA)
Tyler Fox (Aptos, CA)
Mark Healey (Hawaii)
Nic Lamb (Santa Cruz, CA)
Greg Long (San Clemente, CA)
Rusty Long (San Clemente, CA)
Alex Martins (Brazil)
Peter Mel (Santa Cruz, CA)
Ryan Seelbach (San Francisco, CA)
Jamie Sterling (Hawaii)
Anthony Tashnick (Santa Cruz, CA)
Grant Washburn (San Francisco, CA)
Dave Wassell (Hawaii)
Ben Wilkinson (Australia)
Zach Wormhoudt (Santa Cruz, CA)

And the alternates:

Shane Desmond (Santa Cruz, CA)
Danilo Couto (Brazil)
Derek Dunfee (San Diego, CA)
Kelly Slater (Cocoa Beach, FL)
Tyler Smith (Santa Cruz, CA)
Frank Solomon (South Africa)