NOVA SHIN WCT Brazil presented by Billabong

Australian Mick Fanning is your 2006 Nova Schin Festival champion!

Mick Fanning, the fastest surfer on the planet, left nothing to chance blasting to a 9.50 and a 9.27 leaving his Floridian opponent both stupefied and comboed.

Fanning absolutely tore apart the tricky righthanders blending his trademark lightning snaps with hard carves and huge airs.

Hobgood attempted a comeback mid-heat with a 7.50, but ultimately fell short. Damo will receive a 2nd-place finish and is looking solid going into Pipe.

An incredible finish to the event and congratulations to all our competitors.

Check out all the action in the PHOTO and VIDEO galleries as well as audio grabs and insider notes in the ASP MEDIA CENTER!

See you at Pipeline!

Quarterfinal results:

Quarterfinal 1: Damien Hobgood (USA) def. CJ Hobgood (USA)
Quarterfinal 2: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW) def. Darren O’Rafferty (AUS)
Quarterfinal 3: Phillip MacDonald (AUS) def. Greg Emslie (ZAF)
Quarterfinal 4: Mick Fanning (AUS) def. Bobby Martinez (USA)

Semifinal results:

Semifinal 1: Damien Hobgood (USA) def. Fred Patacchia (HAW)
Semifinal 2: Mick Fanning (AUS) def. Phillip MacDonald (AUS)