Owen Wright: Victorious and $300 grand richer. Photo: Ellis

Owen Wright defeated Kelly Slater in excellent conditions at the Quiksilver Pro, New York. It was the second time in as many weeks that the two have faced each other in a final. Slater got the nod in Tahiti, but Wright emphatically beat the current World Ranking's leader in Long Beach, NY and took home the highest paycheck in professional surfing history ($300,000).

Wright launched a couple giant frontside airs in the final that Slater was unable to match on his backhand. Wright has now officially entered the conversation as a World Title contender but with Slater holding a commanding lead he looks well on his way to number 11.

Earlier in the day, Slater shocked everyone with a last minute 10-point-ride for a single maneuver: a giant frontside air reverse. It was a peak maneuver in an event flooded with progressive surfing. In many respects the Quiksilver Pro, New York was a four day air-show and it's been damn fun to watch. In fact, the punchy peaks in Long Island highlighted the progressive side of surfing better than any event to date and the fact that Josh Kerr, Julian Wilson, Alejo Muniz, and of course Owen Wright made up half the quarterfinalists is testament to that.

Between now and Trestles there is bound to be some debauchery, especially from the young Aussies who will revel in the fact that they have finally made a significant headway on the World Tour.

Owen Wright on his way to a 9.23. Photo: Ellis

Kelly Slaters giant air reverse netted him 10 points. Photo: Ellis

Yes, thank you Katia. Photo: Ellis

1. Owen Wright
2. Kelly Slater
3. Alejo Muniz (BRA), Taj Burrow (AUS)
5. Julian Wilson (AUS), Heitor Alvers (BRA), Josh Kerr (AUS), Jadson Andre (BRA)

The New Top 32 that will be competing at Trestles:

*Note: Yadin Nicol is injured and will likely be replaced by Travis Logie

ASP WORLD TITLE TOP 10 (After Quiksilver Pro New York):
1. Kelly Slater (USA) 34950 pts
2. Owen Wright (AUS) 31,900 pts
3. Joel Parkinson (AUS) 30,200 pts
4. Jordy Smith (ZAF) 27,000 pts
5. Adriano de Souza (BRA) 26,750 pts
6. Josh Kerr (AUS) 25,600 pts
7. Taj Burrow (AUS) 25,250 pts
8. Mick Fanning (AUS) 23,000 pts
9. Michel Bourez (PYF) 20,500 pts
10. Jeremy Flores (FRA) 19,700 pts