White, Sheckler, Stewart, Gabeira, and Fiolek, Action Sports Nominees

Fans Can Vote Online For Their Favorite Athletes

The 2009 ESPY Awards are just around the corner and Red Bull is stoked to announce that six of its athletes have been nominated for awards.

Shaun White, Ryan Sheckler and James Stewart will contend for the title in the Male Action Sports Athlete category, while Maya Gabeira and Ashley Fiolek will vie for the top Female Action Sports Athlete title.

On top of the five Red Bull nominees in the Action Sports divisions, Juan Pablo Angel of the New York Red Bulls has been nominated in the Best MLS Player category.

Shaun White has continued to dominate on the snow at the Winter X Games this year, pulling down three top place finishes, as well as a picking up a third place finish in the skateboard vert competition at the 2008 Summer X Games. White also grabbed the overall Winter AST title this year.

19-year-old Ryan Sheckler is coming off his first X Games gold medal in the skateboard street competition since his first X Games victory at the age of 13. Sheckler has become a household name to viewers of his MTV series, "The Life of Ryan."

Recently named 2009 AMA Supercross Champion, James Stewart will not easily handover the Male Action Sports Athlete title to the board-riders. In 2008, Stewart was named the AMA Speed Athlete of the Year and became the second rider in history to achieve a perfect motocross season.

Ashley Fiolek became the youngest AMA Women's Motocross champion in her first full season on the series, at age 17. Fiolek, now 18, has been deaf since birth, yet she has never let it slow her down.

Maya Gabeira, of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, has made a name for herself as one of the best female big-wave surfers in the world. Gabeira was rewarded for her big-wave prowess this year with her third straight Billabong XXL Women's Overall Performance Award.

Soccer player Juan Pablo Angel scored an impressive 14 goals during regular season play, leading the New York Red Bulls to their first MLS cup appearance.

The ESPY Awards, which recognizes athletes for major sports achievements and performances, will air Sunday, July 19 at 9 p.m. on ESPN, with Samuel L. Jackson hosting.

Fans can help determine winners by voting online for their favorite athletes. Online voting runs until 11:59 p.m. ET on July 11.