flor de cana
flor de cana

SURFER Awards 2016: Worst Wipeout Nominees

The Best of the Worst

Worst Wipeout is the one SURFER Awards category that nobody sets out to win, for obvious reasons. The ten wipeouts we've selected this year are some of the most brutal spills you can imagine, from Garrett McNamara skipping down the Mavericks face like a stone, to Grant "Twiggy" Baker's elevator drop at Waimea. The only thing crazier than these falls is the fact that the surfers actually survived them, which is a testament to just how tough these chargers are.

Once you’ve had your fill of aquatic carnage, cast your vote for worst wipeout of the year here.

Voting ends on Monday, December 4th, at 11:59 PM PST. The winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 6th, and be sure to tune in for the live broadcast of SURFER Awards at 9:00 PM PST.

Danny Griffiths, Shipstern Bluff:

David Rutherford, Puerto Escondido:

Derek Dunfee, Mavericks:

Evan Faulks, Ours:

Garrett McNamara, Mavericks:

Grant “Twiggy” Baker, Waimea Bay:

Mason Ho, Waimea Bay:

Matt Bromley, Mavericks:

Ryan Hipwood, Ours:

Tom Dosland, Jaws: