Without further ado, we present to you the winners and nominees of the 2009 SURFER Poll and Video Awards presented by Suzuki Automotive and Ultimate Wave Tahiti. While each category boasted exceptionally talented and promising nominees, decisions had to be made, and we thought we’d give you a little insight into the how and why. So here they are, the 2009 Surfer Poll Awards Winners:

MEN 1. Kelly Slater 2. Joel Parkinson
3. Dane Reynolds
4. Mick Fanning
5. Taj Burrow
6. Rob Machado
7. Andy Irons
8. CJ Hobgood
9. Jordy Smith
10. Bruce Irons

On the heels of his ninth world title and recently voted “The Greatest Surfer of All Time” by a panel of his peers and industry icons in the Big Issue of SURFER, it’s hard to dispute

Kelly Slater’s decade long dominance of not only SURFER Poll but surfing in general.

Parko’s climb to No. 2 marks a notable boost in momentum to his current world-title campaign, and Dane and Jordy’s invasion of the top ten could signal a toppling of the old guard. Freesurfer and rebel force Bruce Irons rounds out the Top Ten, and Rob Machado’s finish in the top six prove that style is timeless.

WOMEN 1. Stephanie Gilmore 2. Sofia Mulanovich
3. Carissa Moore
4. Coco Ho
5. Alana Blanchard

Make way for the new Aussie Queen: Steph Gilmore. Finally unseating perennial SURFER Poll Women’s Champion Sofia Mulanovich, two-time World Champion Steph Gilmore brings a bright young face to the apex of the SURFER Poll podium. Her win comes as a portent of things to come as Coco Ho and Alana Blanchard also made their way onto the list of the five most popular female surfers on Earth.