SAN CLEMENTE, Calif. (November 30, 2010) -- With the 40th annual SURFER Poll Awards presented Samsung and Verizon Wireless less than one week away, SURFER Magazine is pleased to announce that Sal Masekela will return to serve as the Master of Ceremonies for the event. Charismatic Hawaiian surf star Fred Patacchia Jr. will co-host alongside him. And making their red carpet debut, Mark Healey and SURFER's own Saxon Boucher will team up to cover the pre-show events and grab all of the behind-the-scenes exclusives for the live webcast beginning Monday, December 6 at 7 p.m. HST / 9 p.m. PST on

"It makes so much sense that the industry's most monumental night will finally take place on surfing's biggest stage," added Masekela. "I'm humbled and honored to share the stage with Freddy in presenting what will no doubt be one of the most memorable Surfer Poll Awards in history."

This year's SURFER Poll Awards will be held in honor of recently lost legend, three-time World Champion Andy Irons. While acknowledging all of the surfers lost this year, the event will put a heavy focus on Andy and the legacy he leaves behind in and out of the water. Another focal point of this year's show will be Kelly Slater's 10th world title win. Touted as the world's most dominant athlete, Kelly's accomplishments have catapulted the sport of surfing and garnered the world's attention.

In years past, the SURFER Poll has bestowed top honors to some of the great surfing icons including Phil Edwards, Shaun Tomson, Tom Curren, Andy Irons, Kelly Slater, Lisa Andersen, Layne Beachley, Sofia Mulanovich, and Stephanie Gilmore. With an onslaught of new school talent beginning to make their mark this year, it's uncertain whether the veterans will retain their stronghold on the rankings, or whether we may just see a surprising changing of the guard.

The 40th annual SURFER Poll presented by Samsung and Verizon Wireless will be held on Monday, December 6, 2010, at Turtle Bay Resort on Oahu's North Shore. Attendance is by invitation only, but be sure to catch all of the behind-the-scenes and red carpet exclusives along with the event via the live webcast at The show will be simulated on Oceanic Cable channel 250 (letterboxed) and in high definition on channel 1250 (fullscreen). FUEL TV will also be airing an hour-long show on the Surfer Poll Awards on January 5, 2011, at 8:00 p.m. ET.

Don't forget to follow SURFER Mag (@SURFER_Mag) and SURFER Poll (@Surferpoll) on Twitter for sponsor prize pack giveaways and updates.

Special thanks to presenting sponsors, Verizon Wireless and Samsung, and additional supporters of the 2010 SURFER Poll: American Suzuki, Red Bull Surfing, Skullcandy, Pacifico, New Era, Peligroso Tequila, FUEL TV, and the Vans Triple Crown.

Media Contacts:
Monet Quick
Public Relations/Action Sports Group
O: 949-325-6154
C: 949-370-7083

Janna Irons
Associate Editor/SURFER Magazine
O: 949-325-6148