Team BILLABONG wins the inaugural “Champions of Surf 24”


Team BILLABONG wins the inaugural “Champions of Surf 24” in “Surf City” Huntington Beach.

SURF 24 Project Save Our Surf(PSOS) Raises $50,000.00 for the Environmental Groups Surfrider Foundation, Heal the Bay and the Inside the Outdoor Foundation.

After a fantastic twenty-four hours of surfing that began at noon on Saturday and went the through the night ended on International Surfing Day on Sunday at noon, Team Billabong emerged as the first champions of SURF 24 in “Surf City” Huntington Beach.

In SURF 24, competing teams had to put a team-member in the water every hour on the hour to post a single best score, that accumulated to the total overall twenty-four scores to become the champions of the event.

In a tight tussle the final result went down to the last heat as Team Firewire applied the pressure in the overnight hours under the floodlit Huntington Beach pier with SURF 24 MVP Jesse Heilmann of their team posting the events single highest score of 9.83.

In the final anaylsis though Team Billabong with a deep team that included their star juniors, ISA World Junior Champion Keana Asing, and former Pac Sun USA Surf Team members the Thompson brothers Cody and Evan proved to be too strong.

In the specialty hours of which competitors were allocated to participating teams by “hat draw”, firstly on Saturday where Hollywood met surfing in “Surf City” in the “Celebrity Hour”, author Norman Ollestad of “Crazy for the Storm” fame a New York Times bestseller posted the single highest score of 9.00 to be the first “Celebrity Champion of SURF 24”.

Other Hollywood celebrities that competed included John Slattery of “Mad Men”, Sam Trammell of “True Blood”, Pat Parnell from Fuel TV, Eric Balfour of “24” and John “Turtle” Philbin of “North Shore” fame.

In the “Surf Celebrities” a great display was put on by former World Champions Tom Curren and Shaun Tomson, Hawaiian legend Buttons Kaluhiokalani, current US Open of Surfing Women’s Champion Courtney Conlogue and professional skater/surfer Tosh Townend.

On Sunday in the “SUP Hour”, the World Paddle Association(WPA) provided California’s best stand-up paddle surfers who were also allocated to the competing teams from a “hat draw”, provided the event and crowd a great one hour of stand-up paddle surfing that was won by Chuck Patterson with 8.66 single score to become the first “SUP Champion of SURF 24”.

The team champions and individual champions were presented with gold Nixon watches engraved “Champion of SURF 24”, SURF 24’s version of a Super Bowl or NBA ring.

SURF 24 an event of Project Save Our Surf(PSOS) raised $50,000.00 through the events fundraising efforts with the funds being distributed to beneficiaries Surfrider Foundation, Heal the Bay and Inside the Outdoors.

For more information:

SURF 24 Results 2010

The "Champions of SURF 24"

Team BILLABONG 179.01*

Runner-up Team FIREWIRE 169.47

(* the total of 24 scores out of a maximum 10 point scoring system, one per hour)

The "Recreational Team Champion of SURF 24"

Team "ECO WARRIORS" 112.45

Individual Awards:

The "MVP of SURF 24"

Jesse Heilmann/Team FIREWIRE 9.83(Single best score)

The "SUP Champion of SURF 24"

Chuck Patterson/Team ECO WARRIORS 8.66(Single best score)

The "Celebrity Champion of SURF 24"

Norman Ollestad/Team CHRISTIAN SURFERS 9.00(Single best score)