The 18th annual Op East Coast Scholastic Surfing Championships wrapped up on Monday, April 5 with a “three-peat” performance by the New Smyrna Beach High School Team as they took home $1200 in Op Scholarship funds and another first place title. The three-time Championship Team consisted of Devon Tresher, Chad Erickson, Nils Schweizer and Jeremy Johnston, all of New Smyrna Beach, FL.

ESA All-Star Eric Geiselman, 16, of New Smyrna Beach, FL and the ESA NCFL District, continued his domination of East Coast titles, taking the gold in the Junior Mens Division and also claiming a $450 Op Scholarship award. Chris Ropero, 18, of St. Augustine, FL and took second in the Jr Mens final and earned a $350 Op Scholarship award.

Ropero, current Eastern’s Champion in the Jr Mens Division, also put in a good effort surfing up into the Open Mens division this past weekend at the Op East Coast Scholastic Surfing Championships, but not quite enough to beat out Nils Schweizer of the NSSA, who took home the championship in Open Mens and a $450 scholarship award. Ropero, however, did accumulate another $350 in scholarship awards for his second place finish in Open Mens.

The event this weekend was sponsored by OP, {{{Subaru}}}, Rip Curl, Surfing Magazine and SG Surf Snow Skate Magazine, Bolle, Morey and BZ, and FreeStyle Shark Watches.

The finalists in each division are listed below. For complete heat advancements please visit

1st Tom Kowsh ESA-NCFL Flagler Palm Coast H.S.
2nd Devin Ricke ESA-NCFL/ESA All-Star Flagler Palm Coast H.S.
3rd Brandon Dunn ESA-SNJ Timber Creek H.S., NJ

1st Todd Kinsey ESA-NCFL/ESA All-Star New Smyrna Beach H.S.
2nd Drake Courie ESA-SNC Eugene Ashley H.S., NC
3rd Tony Silvagni ESA/SNC/ESA All-Star Kure High School, NC

1st Amy Nichol ESA-NCFL/ESA All-Star New Smyrna Beach {{{M}}}.S.
2nd Natassja Gwizdk ESA-NFL FCCJ, Jacksonville, FL
3rd Angela Miller ESA-CFL Univ. of N.FLA

1st Christa Alves ESA-CFL Cocoa Beach High School
2nd Erika Badida ESA-SAFL
3rd Leilani Pickett ESA-SNC Friends School of Wilmington, NC

1st Evan Geiselman ESA-NCFL Coronado Elementary School
2nd Tommy Orsini ESA-WFL Warde Middle School, Tampa, FL
3rd Nick Rupp ESA-SNC/ESA All-Star Union Elem. School

BOYS 1st Tyler Crawford ESA-NCFL Ormond Beach Middle School, FL
2nd {{{Morgan}}} O’Connell ESA-VA
3rd Zach Humphreys ESA-SNJ/ESA All-Star Margate High School

1st Erik Geiselman ESA-NCFL/ESA All-Star New Smyrna Beach H.S.
2nd Chris Ropero ESA-SAFL
3rd Kyle Busey ESA-SSC James Island H.S.

1st Nils Schweizer NSSA-FLA New Smyrna Beach H.S.
2nd Chris Ropero ESA-SAFL
3rd Devon Tresher ESA-NCFL New Smyrna Beach H.S.

1st NEW SMYRNA BEACH HIGH SCHOOL – Devon Tresher, Chad Erickson, Nils Schweizer, Jeremy Johnston

2nd ST. AUGUSTINE HIGH SCHOOL – Chris Ropero, Pat Conner, Philip Goold, Eric Geiselman