The Quiksilver Pro France got underway this afternoon, following opening round heats of the Roxy Pro France. Australians dominated the six heats run in the men’s US$250,000 World Championship Tournament (WCT), winning all but one of those surfed.Good 3ft (1m) waves were on offer at Les Bourdaines, improving as the higher tide filled in with clean right and lefthanders.Australian Toby Martin (Dee Why) won the opening heat of the men’s division, earning an 8.33 on his first right-hander. He then waited patiently while opponents Peterson Rosa (Brz) and Michael Lowe (Windang, Aus) caught lots of smaller waves, before finding another couple of rights to command the lead with some great surfing. Despite a series of poor results on the WCT this year, Martin was fired up for he match and is determined to change his luck in Europe. “Everyone’s surfing so amazing this year on tour, and watching them blow upmakes you go out there with nothing to lose,” said Martin.Luke Stedman ({{{Avalon}}}, Aus), who is currently tied with Martin in 42ndposition on the ratings, then posted a great win over Cory Lopez (Fl, USA) and Trent Munro (Scott’s Head, Aus). The WCT ‘rookie’ has been gaining confidence each event this season, and showed it as he collected the highest combined tally of 17.26-points. “I watched the conditions for a long time and knew where the spot was and made sure I stayed there,” explained Stedman. “It’s all about who gets the waves, as everyone’s got equal ability at this level. When you get a waveyou’ve just got to nail it.”Mick Campbell (Port Macquarie) earned the best single score of 8.93 todefeat fellow Australians Dean Morrison (Gold Coast) and Tom Whitaker(Bronte). The goofyfooter turned on the goods toward the end of theirmatch, also collecting an 8.17 for a convincing victory. “There weren’t many waves at the start, but we all got some good ones toward the end,” said Campbell. “I was hassling a bit though, as I was wearing board shorts and was freezing. I had to keep moving around and it worked to my advantage.”Wildcard Troy Brooks (Gold Coast, Aus) served notice he’s out to createupsets in the Quiksilver Pro France by defeating Victor Ribas ({{{Rio}}}, Brz) and Kieren Perrow (Byron Bay, Aus). While no one is eliminated in round one, Brooks advanced directly into the third, while his opponents now have to contest the ‘losers’ elimination round. “I love making something of the wildcard opportunities I get,” said Brooks,who’s no stranger to Quiksilver Pro events.Brazilian Paulo Moura secured the only non-Australian win, overcoming strong performances by world No. 5 Mick Fanning (Gold Coast, Aus) and local French wildcard Miky Picon. All three posted big scores as conditions turned on, but it was Moura’s backhand attack that ultimately earned the equal best score of the day for an 8.93 and round three berth. “I focused so much for that heat,” acknowledged Moura. “I stayed relaxed and picked the good waves, and tried to surf my best. I’m happy to be here in France again, and I’ve been training all year, hoping to improve.”Quiksilver Pro France Round One Heats (1st>Rnd 3; 2nd, 3rd>Rnd 2){{{H1}}}: Toby Martin (Aus) 15.66; Peterson Rosa (Brz) 12.77; Michael Lowe (Aus)10.1
{{{H2}}}: Luke Stedman (Aus) 17.26; Cory Lopez (USA) 9.4; Trent Munro (Aus) 7.76
{{{H3}}}: Michael Campbell (Aus) 17.1; Dean Morrison (Aus) 15.86; Tom Whitaker(Aus) 10.33
H4: Nathan Hedge (Aus) 13.1; Tim Curran (USA) 12.7; Luke Egan (Aus) 11.5
H5: Troy Brooks (Aus) 15.33; Victor Ribas (Brz) 11.0; Kieren Perrow (Aus)8.23
H6: Paulo Moura (Brz) 16.76; Mick Fanning (Aus) 14.5; Miky Picon (Fra) 14.34
Remaining Quiksilver Pro France Round One Heats (1st>Rnd 3; 2nd, 3rd>Rnd 2H7: Taj Burrow (Aus); Pat O’Connell (Aus); Jonathan Gonzalez (Spn)
H8: Andy Irons (Haw); Jake Paterson (Aus); Frederick Robin (Fra
H9: Joel Parkinson (Aus); Kalani Robb (Haw); Patrick Beven (Fra)
H10: Kelly Slater (USA); Neco Padaratz (Brz); Tiago Pires (Port)
H11: Taylor Knox (USA); Guilherme Herdy (Brz); Fabio Gouveia (Brz)
H12: Damien Hobgood (USA); Shane Powell (Aus); Beau Emerton (Aus)
H13: Mark Occhilupo (Aus); Armando Daltro (Brz); Danilo Costa (Brz)
H14: Shea Lopez (USA); Phil MacDonald (Aus); Darren O’Rafferty (Aus)
H15: Daniel Wills (Aus); Lee Winkler (Aus); Flavio Padaratz (Brz)
H16: Richard Lovett (Aus); Luke Hitchings (Aus); Chris Davidson (Aus)
For more information, go to Quiksilver’s website or