HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA– June 17, 2004 – Surfing America, the newly-appointed National Governing Body for the sport of Surfing in the United States, today will complete the first stage of the Official USA Surfing Championships: The American Surfing Championships.

The American Surfing Championships will involve the top ranked athletes from the Eastern Surfing Association (ESA), the Hawaii Amateur Surfing Association (HASA), and the Texas Gulf Surfing Association (TGSA). The second event, the National Scholastic Surfing Association (NSSA) Nationals, is scheduled to start tomorrow and run through June 26th. The American Surfing Championships, taking place this week at the Huntington Beach Pier has completed the first three days of competition. The Finals for several adult divisions were held on Wednesday, with heats in key youth events completing today.

Over {{{200}}} amateur surfers from Hawaii, Texas, and nine East Coast states are vying for national titles in shortboard, longboard and bodyboard events at the Huntington Beach Pier as they represent their Surfing America regional associations: Eastern Surfing Association (ESA), Hawaii Amateur Surfing Association (HASA) and Texas Gulf Surfing Association (TGSA). Texan {{{Morgan}}} Faulkner brought home gold for the TGSA in the Men”s Longboard division, and he now prepares for a challenge in the Men”s Final on Thursday. The surf conditions have ranged from clean 5 foot peaks to onshore mushy 2-3 foot swells in cool water, under overcast to sunny conditions.

As the youth events got into full swing on Wednesday morning, Tony Silvagni and Jesse Heilman of the East Coast were holding their own against an Hawaiian onslaught in the Junior Mens division (15-17 years), led by Shane Valiere, T.J. Barron and Kyle Ramey. A battle between Hawaii and the East Coast was developing in the Girls division (17 & under) as East Coast favorites Ashley Francis, Amy Nicholl and Keenan Lineback faced off against HASA challengers including Marissa Matsusaka and Alana Blanchard.

Results of the adult divisions are as follows:

1.Patrick Emery – ESA
2.Anthony Passarelli – ESA
3.Chris Lonabaught – TGSA
4. Zach May – TGSA

1.Kurt Thuemmler – ESA
2.Joe Gillen – ESA
3.Art Baltrotsky -ESA
4.Jim Tolliver – ESA

1.Bill Whatley – ESA
2. John Jones – TGSA
3.Jay Hawekotte – ESA
4. Charlie Birch – ESA

1.Katherine {{{Van}}} Dyke – HASA
2.Kelly Nicely – ESA
3.Jo Pickett – ESA
4.Nastassja Gwizdak – ESA

Jo Pickett – ESA

Charlie Birch – ESA

1. Lindsay Bowman – ESA
2.Nicole Dodson – TGSA
3.Ashley Francis – ESA
4.Marissa Matsusaka – HASA

1.Morgan Faulkner – TGSA
2.Todd Kinsey – ESA
3.Len Barrow – HASA
4.Kurt Thuemmler – ESA

Len Barrow – HASA

1.Bill Whatley – ESA
2.Joe Gillen – ESA
3.John Jones – TGSA
4.March Angelillo- ESA

Surfers from both the American Surfing Championships and the NSSA Nationals will vie for coveted seeds into the official 2004 USA Surfing Championships and USA Team Selection. This series of events officially kicks off Surfing America”s reign as the newly-recognized National Governing Body (“NGB”) for surfing in the United States.

In order to qualify for the 2004 USA Surfing Championships, athletes must first become a member of a Surfing America-recognized Organization (ESA, HASA, NSSA, or TGSA)—and must compete successfully within their organization. Each one of the four organizations, in its sole discretion, determines which athletes qualify for these events and submits those names to Surfing America.

USA Surfing Championships Series of Events Schedule
The American Surfing Championships takes place June 13-17 in Huntington Beach, CA
The NSSA Nationals will take place June 18-26 at Lower Trestles in San Clemente, CA
The official USA Surfing Championships and USA Surf Team Selection will take place July 23-25 in Huntington Beach, CA.

Mike Gerard or Meg Bernardo
Surfing America

Surfing America Recognized Organizations:
Eastern Surfing Association (ESA)

Hawaii Amateur Surfing Association (HASA)

National Scholastic Surfing Association

Texas Gulf Surfing Association (TGSA)

Surfing America is the ISA-recognized National Governing Body for Surfing in the United States. The International Surfing Association (ISA) is recognized by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) as the World Governing Authority for Surfing, Bodyboarding, and Surfriding.