Juniors Overpower Small Conditions at Billabong Sebastian Inlet Pro Junior

SEBASTIAN INLET, Florida (Sunday, Mar. 9, 2008) - Although small surf in the one-to-two foot (0.5 metre) range was on offer today, the Billabong Sebastian Inlet Pro Junior got underway today, and North America's top junior talents dazzled despite the less-than ideal conditions.

The Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) North America Pro Junior Series kickstarted today with {{{80}}} men and 16 women all vying for valuable ratings points for their respective campaigns which began in Florida today.

Phillip Goold (Virginia Beach, VA) earned top honors this afternoon, posting an impressive 9.25 out of possible 10.0 points to collect the day's highest single wave score. In addition to the day's highest single wave score, Goold also claimed the highest combined heat score of 16.00 out of possible 20 points for his domineering form in the fickle beachbreak peaks.

Tanner Gudauskas (San Clemente, Ca) was another form surfer for the day, impressing both spectators and judges alike with convincing Round 1 and Round 2 wins. Gudauskas finished 3rd last January at the Billabong ASP World Junior Championships and the talented goofy-footer hasn't slowed down one iota.

"Phillip and Tanner Gudauskas were the stand out surfers in the event today." Mike Parsons, Billabong Sebastian Inlet Pro Junior Event Director, said. "Tanner was the standout surfer of the day, and is on another level. He is setting the pace for the rest of the competition"

Spencer Reagan (Ventura, CA), was also showing multiple stand out performances throughout the event. Spencer posted a solid single wave score of 8.25 out of 10.points in the round of 32 to cap of an impressive day of surfing as he claimed victories in all three of his heats as he marches into round four.

Gudauskas and Reagan will have to remain consistent tomorrow as they face the likes of contest favorites Adam Wickwire, (Satellite Beach, FL) and Eric Geiselman (New Symrna Beach, Fl).

The ASP Grade-1 Women's Pro Junior division ran through the semifinals today with Haley Watson (Jacksonville Beach, FL), Courtney Conlogue (Santa Ana, CA) Sage Erickson,(Ojai, CA) and Christa Alves (Cocoa Beach, Fl) all advancing to the finals of the Billabong Sebastian Inlet Pro Junior which will be held tomorrow.

Watson claimed the women's highest single wave score in first semifinal with an 8.0 out of 10 points which proved to be the strongpoint in her first place finish over reigning ASP North America Pro Junior Champion and defending Billabong Sebastian Inlet Pro Junior Champion Conlogue, earning Watson one of four spots in the final.

Sage Erickson comfortably lead her semifinal heat through its entirety while her competitors tried vigorously to play catch up to Erickson's consistent wave scores.

Tomorrow will see champions crowned at the Billabong Sebastian Inlet Pro Junior so don't miss a moment of LIVE action via http://www.billabongpro.com

For more information, log onto www.aspnorthamerica.org.

RESULTS: Billabong Sebastian Inlet Pro Junior

Round 1: 80 surfers remaining (1st and 2nd advance)

Heat 1: Spencer Reagan (USA) 13.00, Vince Boulanger (USA) 9.40, Brad Hagglund (USA) 6.05, Cody Sammons (USA) 2.00
Heat 2: Kedren Ferrero (USA) 10.50, Dustin Willman (USA) 7.85, John Kersey (USA) 4.95, Shane Nelson (USA) 4.80
Heat 3: Thomas Clarke (USA) 13.60, Matt McCabe (USA) 11.00, Adam Lambert (USA) 5.65, Jeffery Lukasik (USA) 5.05
Heat 4: Cam Richards (USA) 7.00, TJ Mortellado (USA) 6.00, TJ Gumiela (USA) 5.30, Thor O'Brien (USA) 4.00
Heat 5: David Suhadolnik (USA) 8.35, Jared Thorne (USA) 6.25, Ryan Burch (USA) 5.25, Frank Roper (USA) 4.00
Heat 6: Taylor Thorne (USA) 11.00, Brenden Buckley (USA) 9.10, Keetin Devine (USA) 4.75, Devon Ayers (USA) 1.80
Heat 7: Tanner Deprin (USA) 12.40, Michael Payton (USA) 7.15, Michael Vacchiano (USA) 3.75, Pete Pichichero (USA) 3.65
Heat 8: Nick Suhadolnik (USA) 11.00, Jason Green (USA) 9.50, Tommy Orsini (USA) 5.{{{90}}}, Ryan Zmuda (USA) 4.85

Round 2: 48 surfers remaining (1st and 2nd advance)

Heat 1: Spencer Reagan (USA) 12.35, Eric Snortum (USA) 10.75, Ian Block (USA) 4.25, Dustin Willman (USA) 3.30
Heat 2: Tanner Gudauskas (USA) 9.25, Kedren Ferrero (USA) 8.50, Oliver Kurtz (USA) 8.00,Vince Boulanger (USA) 7.15
Heat 3: Rob Kelly (USA) 12.00, Thomas Clarke (USA) 12.00, Chris Eaves (USA) 7.00, TJ Mortellaro (USA) 5.50
Heat 4: Mike McCabe (USA) 9.35, Sean Poynter (USA) 8.60, Matt McCabe (USA) 7.35, Cam Richards (USA) 6.10
Heat 5: Gabe Garcia (USA) 11.60, David Suhadolnik (USA) 9.50, Brenden Buckley (USA) 6.60, Kelsey Strickland (USA) 4.95
Heat 6: Taylor Thorne (USA) 12.00, Jared Thorne (USA) 10.50, Matt Pagan (USA) 8.25, Matt Challemi (USA) 6.85
Heat 7: Wesley Toth (PRI) 9.90, Tanner Deprin (USA) 8.15, Jason Green (USA) 6.50, Nick Bland (USA) 5.75
Heat 8: Fisher Heverly (USA) 9.50, Nick Suhadolnik (USA) 8.75, Balaram Stack (USA) 6.60, Michael Payton (USA) 5.85

Round 3: 32 surfers remaining (1st and 2nd advance)

Heat 1: Spencer Reagan (USA) 13.80, Luke Davis (USA) 10.90, Nick Rupp (USA) 9.85, Kedren Ferrero (USA) 8.75
Heat 2: Tanner Gudauskas (USA) 13.75, Eric Snortum (USA) 12.75, Dewey Cunnison (USA) 7.50, Logan Strook (USA) 7.25
Heat 3: Bruno Rodrigues (BRA) 15.40, Rob Kelly (USA) 13.10, Sean Poynter (USA) 11.10, Patrick Cahill (USA) 6.50
Heat 4: Phillip Goold (USA) 16.00, Thomas Clarke (USA) 12.15, Kolohe Andino (USA) 11.50, Mike McCabe (USA) 9.35
Heat 5: Jared Thorne (USA) 11.65, Brett Barley (USA) 10.80, Ben Graeff (USA) 9.00, Gabe Garcia (USA) 8.70
Heat 6: Michael Dunphy (USA) 13.10, Riley Metcalf (USA) 10.85, David Suhadolnik (USA) 8.80, Taylor Thorne (USA) 8.40
Heat 7: Evan Thompson (USA) 15.40, Jensen Callaway (USA) 13.35, Nick Suhadolnik (USA) 9.10, Wesley Toth (PRI) 7.25
Heat 8: Hunter Heverly (USA) 10.25, Zack Humphreys (USA) 10.25, Fisher Heverly (USA) 6.65, Tanner Deprin (USA) 4.70

Billabong Sebastian Inlet Pro Junior: ASP Grade-1 Women's Pro Junior

Quarterfinals: 16 surfers remaining (1st and 2nd advance)

Heat 1: Alexis Engstrom (USA) 14.75, Carly Franco (USA) 7.50, Ariel Engstrom (USA) 6.25, Nikki Viesins (USA) 3.00
Heat 2: Courtney Conlogue (USA) 13.15, Haley Watson (USA) 5.75, Chelsea Gresham (USA) 4.25
Heat 3: Jasset Umbel (USA) 10.50, Sage Erickson (USA) 8.25, Liza Caban (USA) 6.60
Heat 4: Christa Alves (USA) 13.75, Amy Nicholl (USA) 13.00, Savannah Bradley (USA) 5.10

Semifinals: 8 surfers, remaining (1st and 2nd advance)

SF 1: Haley Watson (USA) 11.00, Courtney Conlogue (USA) 11.00, Alexis Engstrom (USA) 7.60, Carly Franco (USA) 5.60
SF 2: Sage Erickson (USA) 11.90, Christa Alves (USA) 10.00, Amy Nicholl (USA) 8.75, Jasset Umbel (USA) 5.25