Gold Rush

ASP World Tour number six, C.J. Hobgood blazed to victory in an Australia heavy final at the International Surfing Association (ISA) World Surfing Games today. Hobgood, who was the form surfer of the event, bested Aussies Kai Otton, Dayyan Neve and Heath Joske to claim the Open Mens gold medal and secure a silver medal for Team USA. However, Australia was able to defend their gold medal team finish from the 2006 ISA World Surfing Games.

"It would have been the ultimate to win a team gold but we had the second best team and it was all good," Hobgood said. "It was a sick team and everyone got along so good. Everyone laid it all out there and that's how the cards fell."

Hobgood and his fellow finalists each picked a peak and let Mother Nature decide the fate of the final. In the end, the lone American held scores high enough to solidify the victory and the USA silver medal.

Other finalists for the PacSun USA Surf Team include Womens surfer Lauren Sweeney, who, despite a lackluster final, surfed with authority throughout the entire qualifying draw of the double-elimination format. Sweeney finished fourth, earning a copper medal.

Longboarder Taylor Jensen claimed a bronze medal for America. Jensen faced a heat full of fellow ASP World Longboard Tour competitors in the four-man dual. His stylish nose-rides mixed with a progressive approach to draw accolades from the judges and fellow competitors alike.

PacSun USA Surf Team coach Joey Buran remarked, "Our depth is why we were able to hang on so long in this competition."

The PacSun USA Surf Team roster for the 2008 ISA World Surfing Games in Costa da Caparica, Portugal included:

C.J. Hobgood
Ben Bourgeois
Dillon Perillo
Nat Young

Lauren Sweeney
Demi Boelsterli

Taylor Jensen

Mens Bodyboard
Jeremy Wright
Jacob Romero

Womens Bodyboard
Keila Grodzen

For complete results of the ISA World Surfing Games check out

{{{CJ}}} Hobgood