2004 Eddie Invitees List


Huntington Beach, California, October 29, 2004 (NYSE:ZQK) One coveted invitation, an indicator of one’s status in the elite club of big-wave riders, sends surfers all over the world charging toward their mailboxes to see where they stand. The invitees for the 2004/2005 Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau, otherwise known as “The Eddie,” have been officially announced. Scheduled to take place at the hallowed grounds of Waimea Bay, on the North Shore of Oahu, between December 3rd and February 28th, the Eddie, a one-day event, requires a minimum of 20-foot surf.

Created in 1986 to honor the legendary Hawaiian waterman, Eddie Aikau, the event gathers the most skillful and dynamic big-wave surfers from around the world as polled by a collection of influential and experienced watermen. Past winners include Clyde Aikau, Keone Downing, Noah Johnson, Ross Clarke-Jones, and Kelly Slater. First-time inclusions for this season’s event are Makua Rothman and Jamie {{{Sterling}}}. Following is a complete list of invitees and alternates.

INVITEES: (In alphabetical order)

Clyde Aikau (Hawaii)
Ross Clarke-Jones (Australia)
Shane Dorian (Hawaii)
Keone Downing (Hawaii)
John Gomes (Hawaii)
Laird Hamilton (Hawaii)
Mark Healy (Hawaii)
Michael Ho (Hawaii)
Andy Irons (Hawaii)
Bruce Irons (Hawaii)
Noah Johnson (Hawaii)
Brian Keaulana (Hawaii)
Rusty Keaulana (Hawaii)
Brock Little (Hawaii)
Peter Mel (California)
Myles Padaca (Hawaii)
Paul Paterson (Australia)
Tony Ray (Australia)
Makua Rothman (Hawaii)
Kelly Slater (Florida)
Jamie Sterling (Hawaii)
Pancho Sullivan (Hawaii)
Darryl “Flea” Virostko (California)
Ross Williams (Hawaii)

ALTERNATES: (In seeding order)

1. Zane Aikau (Hawaii)
2. Titus Kinimaka (Hawaii)
3. Tony Moniz (Hawaii)
4. Darrick Doerner (Hawaii)
5. Jamie O’Brien (Hawaii)
6. Tom Carroll (Australia)
7. Braden Dias (Hawaii)
8. Mike Parsons (California)
9. Garrett McNamara (Hawaii)
10. Sunny Garcia (Hawaii)
11. Keoni Watson (Hawaii)
12. Derek Ho (Hawaii)
13. Carlos Burle (Brazil)
14. Kalani Chapman (Hawaii)
15. Taylor Knox (California)
16. Cheyne Horan (Australia)
17. Chava Greenlee (Hawaii)
18. Chris Malloy (California)
19. Kala Alexander (Hawaii)
20. Elijah Young (Hawaii)
21. David Standt (Hawaii)
22. Dennis Pang (Hawaii)
23. Eric Haas (Hawaii)
24. Clark Abbey (Hawaii)

The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau opening ceremonies will commence on December 2, 2004. Details will follow. For further information go directly to www.quiksilver.com/eddie

Talk about this topic on the SURFING message boards – CLICK HERE