Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau Opening Ceremony Update


Waimea Bay, North Shore, Oahu

Opening Ceremony(Webcast Live) www.quiksilver.com/eddie_aikau_04: Thursday, December 2, 2004. 3pm atWaimea Bay. Holding Period: December 3, 2004 to February 28, 2005. To beheld on one day when surf measures at least 20 feet (40 feet faces).

24 of the world’s best big-wave riders, including defending championKelly Slater (USA) and Aikau’s younger brother and former champion ClydeAikau.

One coveted invitation, an indicator of one’s status in the elite club ofbig-wave riders, sends surfers all over the world charging toward theirmailboxes to see where they stand. The invitees for the 2004/2005Quiksilver in Memory of Eddie Aikau, otherwise known as “The Eddie,”have been officially announced. Scheduled to take place at the hallowedgrounds of Waimea Bay, on the North Shore of Oahu, between December 3rdand February 28th, the Eddie, a one-day event, requires a minimum of20-foot surf.

Created in 1986 to honor the legendary Hawaiian waterman, Eddie Aikau,the event gathers the most skillful and dynamic big-wave surfers fromaround the world as polled by a collection of influential andexperienced watermen. Past winners include Clyde Aikau, Keone Downing,Noah Johnson, Ross Clarke-Jones, and Kelly Slater. First-time inclusionsfor this season’s event are Makua Rothman and Jamie {{{Sterling}}}. Followingis a complete list of invitees and alternates.

INVITEES: (In alphabetical order)

Clyde Aikau (Hawaii)
Ross Clarke-Jones (Australia)
Shane Dorian (Hawaii)
Keone Downing (Hawaii)
John Gomes (Hawaii)
Laird Hamilton (Hawaii)
Mark Healy (Hawaii)
Michael Ho (Hawaii)
Andy Irons (Hawaii)
Bruce Irons (Hawaii)
Noah Johnson (Hawaii)
Brian Keaulana (Hawaii)
Rusty Keaulana (Hawaii)
Brock Little (Hawaii)
Peter Mel (California)
Myles Padaca (Hawaii)
Paul Paterson (Australia)
Tony Ray (Australia)
Makua Rothman (Hawaii)
Kelly Slater (Florida)
Jamie Sterling (Hawaii)
Pancho Sullivan (Hawaii)
Darryl “Flea” Virostko (California)
Ross Williams (Hawaii)

ALTERNATES: (In seeding order)

1. Zane Aikau (Hawaii)
2. Titus Kinimaka (Hawaii)
3. Tony Moniz (Hawaii)
4. Darrick Doerner (Hawaii)
5. Jamie O’Brien (Hawaii)
6. Tom Carroll (Australia)
7. Braden Dias (Hawaii)
8. Mike Parsons (California)
9. Garrett McNamara (Hawaii)
10. Sunny Garcia (Hawaii)
11. Keoni Watson (Hawaii)
12. Derek Ho (Hawaii)
13. Carlos Burle (Brazil)
14. Kalani Chapman (Hawaii)
15. Taylor Knox (California)
16. Cheyne Horan (Australia)
17. Chava Greenlee (Hawaii)
18. Chris Malloy (California)
19. Kala Alexander (Hawaii)
20. Elijah Young (Hawaii)
21. David Standt (Hawaii)
22. Dennis Pang (Hawaii)
23. Eric Haas (Hawaii)
24. Clark Abbey (Hawaii)

The Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau opening ceremonies will commenceon December 2, 2004. Details will follow. For further information godirectly to www.quiksilver.com/eddie_aikau_04