ESA Globe Scholastics

The Eastern Surfing Association (ESA) The 19th annual Globe East Coast Scholastic Surfing Championships wrapped up on Monday, March 21 in New Smyrna Beach Florida, when the dark horse First Colonial High School of Virginia Beach took the Championship Team title and $1200 in Globe Scholarship funds. The Championship Team included: {{{Morgan}}} O’Connell, Alex Strangways, Sebastian A. Moreno and Lindsay Bowman, all of Virginia Beach, Virginia. Bowman, an ESA All-Star, was the first female to compete on a “Team Challenge” team in the history of the event.

ESA All-Star Eric Geiselman, 17, of New Smyrna Beach Florida and the ESA NCFL District, continued his domination of East Coast titles, taking the gold in the Junior Mens Division and also claiming a $450 Globe Scholarship award. Jesse Heilman, 18, of St. Augustine, Florida took second in the man-on-man Junior Mens final and earned a $350 Globe Scholarship award. Following in the steps of ASP professional surfer Eric Taylor, former ESA All-Star Eric Geiselman also swept the Open Mens Division to take another title and another $450 Globe Scholarship Award. In the man-on-man finals, Shane Hogan, of Cocoa Beach, Florida gave Geiselman a challenge, and took a well-earned second place title, as well as a $350 Globe Scholarship Award.

The event, an Eastern Surfing Association Production, is the first qualifying event of the season for the 2006 ESA All-Star Team. The finalists in each division are listed below.

1st Devin Ricke ESA-NCFL/ESA All-Star Flagler Palm Coast H.S., Flagler, FL
2nd Juan Moreno ESA-SFL
3rd Axel Arenas ESA-CNJ

1st Todd Kinsey ESA-NCFL/ESA All-Star {{{Daytona}}} Beach Community College, Daytona Beach, FL
2nd Tony Silvagni ESA-SNC/ESA All-Star
3rd Justin Quintal ESA-NFL

1st Evan Geiselman ESA-NCFL Coronado Elementary School, New Smyrna Beach, FL
2nd Christian Miller ESA-PBC
3rd Nathan Colburn ESA-NCFL

1st Taylor Brothers ESA-WFL Laurel Nokomis Middle School, Osprey, FL
2nd Fisher Heverly ESA-CNC/ESA All-Star
3rd Cole Richards ESA-NSC

1st Christa Alves ESA-CFL/ESA All-Star New Covenant Christian School, Cocoa Beach, FL
2nd Keenan Lineback ESA-NSC
3rd Amy Nichol ESA-NCFL/ESA All-Star

1st Amy Nichol ESA-NCFL/ESA All-Star New Smyrna Beach High School, New Smyrna Beach, FL
2nd Christa Alves ESA-CFL/ESA All-Star
3rd Ashley Francis ESA-CFL/ESA All-Star

1st Eric Geiselman ESA-NCFL/ESA All-Star New Smyrna Beach High School, New Smyrna Beach, FL
2nd Jesse Heilman ESA-NCFL
3rd Jesse Dyer ESA-NCFL

1st Eric Geiselman ESA-NCFL/ESA All-Star New Smyrna Beach High School, New Smyrna Beach, FL
2nd Shane Hogan ESA-CFL
3rd Phillip Goold ESA-VA/ESA All-Star

The 2005 ESA Championship Season is proudly sponsored by ESA National Sponsors: Globe, {{{Subaru}}}, Rip Curl, Bolle, SoBe, Vaseline Intensive Care, Surfing Magazine, SG Surf Skate Snow Magazine,, FCS, Morey & BZ Bodyboards, Surfco Hawaii, Sharkinetics Multimedia, Aquafluence Productions and Lost.